Janitha Shehan’s all-round performance gives Gurukula College an important win

U19 Division 1 School Cricket Tournament 2022 ( Limited-Overs )


Five games of the Schools U19 Division One tournament ended today (28th) with  Royal College, Gurukula College, St. Joseph Vaz College, St. Anthony’s College & Wesley College registered the wins.

Throughout the day, batting was a tough task as none of the teams were able to pass the 200-run mark. Gaviru Senhas of D.S Senanayake College, Mishen Fernando of De Mazenod  College & Janitha Shehan of Gurukula College were the only batters to cross the 50-run mark across the 5 games which clearly shows that it was a day that belonged to bowlers.

On the other hand, bowlers enjoyed a lot of success today as Shakesh Minon of Wesley College, Hiruna Nimsara of Gurukula College & Akila Wickramasinghe of St. Sylvester’s College picked up 4 wicket hauls while Kaveesha Piyumal of St. Anthony’s College bowled the most notable spell of the day by taking 5 wickets for just 14 runs.

Brief Scores

Wesley College, Colombo Vs D.S Senanayake College, Colombo

D.S Senanayake College 159 (37.5)

Gaviru Senhas 54, Manura Peiris 30

Shakesh Minon 4/41, Uvin Perera 3/32

Wesley College 161/5 (29.2)

Chamath Gomez 48, Ashan Sudarshana 34

Senura Silva 3/48

Wesley College won by 5 wickets

St. Anthony’s College, Katugastota Vs St. Sebastian’s College, Moratuwa

St. Sebastian’s College 117 (39.1)

Sanesh Fernando 28, Ryan Dissanayake 28

Kaveesha Piyumal 5/14

St. Anthony’s College 117/7 (26)

Thisara Ekanayake 42, Janith Ratnnasiri 39

Nadeesh Fernando 3/29, Sajana Wijeratne 2/19

St. Anthony’s College won by 3 wickets (Revised target due to rain : 114 in 39 overs)

Nalanda College, Colombo Vs Royal College, Colombo

Nalanda College 126 (37.3)

Manupa Manmith 40, Yasiru Samarakoon 29

Thamod Madularachchi 2/15, Dasis Manchanayake 2/17

Royal College 127/7 (38.2)

Sineth Jayawardene 37

Sajitha Vithanage 2/23

Royal College won by 3 wickets

De Mazenod College, Kandana Vs Gurukula College, Kelaniya

De Mazenod College 187 (48.5)

Mishen Fernando 52, Neshan Dias 30

Hiruna Nimsara 4/27, Janitha Shehan 2/45

Gurukula College 188/7 (48.5)

Janitha Shehan 96

Sithum Fernando 2/17, Neshan Dias 2/39

Gurukula College won by 3 wickets

St. Sylvester’s College, Kandy Vs St. Joseph Vaz College, Wennappuwa

St. Sylvester’s College 184 (50)

Deon Fernando 44, Yoshitha Isuranga 36

Menusha Perera 3/33, Janith Shehan 3/41

St. Joseph Vaz College 185/8 (49.3)

Kavindu Nishara 41, Dasun Perera 30

Akila Wickramasinghe 4/30

St. Joseph Vaz College won by 2 wickets