Lahiru Amarasekara takes five scalps to dent Trinity

U19 Schools Cricket Tournament 2022/23

U19 Schools Cricket Tournament 2022/23

An U19 traditional match between Trinity College, Kandy and St. Joseph’s College, Colombo began today (17th April) at Asgiriya Grounds in Kandy.

Read More – Jaffna Central College crowned U19 Division 3 Tier ‘A’ Champions

Having won the toss and having opted to bat, half of the Trinitians’ side was dismissed for 89 runs before Janith Ravishka and Manula Kularathne added a useful 58 runs to the 6th wicket. That was to be the only partnership which looked threatening to the St. Joseph’s bowlers.

Ravishka was gone for 45 as their top scorer at the time, and Kularathne got out for 40. On a rain-hit day, they were able to play for only 64.1 overs, where Trinity College made 151/8.

Read More – St. Servatius’ College crowned as Division 1 Tier ‘B’ champions

On the other hand, the Josephians’ Lahiru Amarasekara produced an excellent spell by claiming a fifer, while Gagan Chamodh scalped three as well.

Brief Scores:

Trinity College, Kandy 151/8 (64.1) Janith Ravishka 45, Manula Kularathne 40, Supun Waduge 24, Lahiru Amarasekara 5/52, Gagan Chamodh 3/31

Day 1 Stumps

<<< Schools Cricket News >>>