St. Servatius’ College crowned as Division 1 Tier ‘B’ champions

U19 Schools Cricket Tournament 2022/23

U19 Schools Cricket Tournament 2022/23

St. Servatius’ College, Matara became champions of the U19 Division 1 Tier ‘B’ Tournament 2022/23 after competing against Maris Stella College, Negombo in the Final today (11th April) at Kirimandala Mawatha Cricket Grounds.

 >>St. Joseph’s and Trinity declared U19 joint champions

From the overnight score of 14/0, Maris Stella College were bowled out for 110 after the lunch break on Day 2. Shean Adithya was the only bright spot of their innings with a 48-run knock, while Kushan Wijerama picked 4/22 for St. Servatius’.

Apart from that, Chathum Bimsara, Chiran Neththaru and Tharush Damindu also took a couple of wickets apiece.

>>St. Servatius’ secure a promotion by reaching the finals

With a healthy 1st innings lead of 89 runs, St. Servatius’ began their 2nd innings and showed a much better batting performance to post 211/6, led by the experienced Diniru Abeywickramasinghe with a fabulous century. That knock of 115 runs came off just 125 deliveries, which included 6 fours and 2 sixes. In a 109-run alliance with Abeywickramasinghe, Vishwa Supun added a useful 43 runs. Hasindu Perera, who was 1st innings 5-wicket holder, bagged another 4 wickets in the 2nd innings and finished with a match bag of 9 wickets.

In the end, the Final match ended in a draw, where St. Servatius’ took control for a major part of the match. With the 1st innings lead, St. Servatius’ College, Matara became champions of the U19 Schools Cricket Division 1 Tier ‘B’ Tournament 2022/23.

 >>Trinity, St. Joseph’s & Maris Stella qualify for the Finals

Despite the result of the Final, Both St. Servatius’ College and Maris Stella College secured promotions to the Division 1 Tier ‘A’ Tournament for the upcoming 2023/24 season.

Brief Scores:

St. Servatius’ College, Matara 199 (69.3) Viran Chamuditha 50, Denuwan Pramod 36, Diniru Abeywickramasinghe 30, Chiran Neththaru 30, Hasindu Perera 5/54, Shean Adithya 2/58 & 211/6 (48.2) Diniru Abeywickramasinghe 115, Vishwa Supun 43, Mithila Charles 19, Hasindu Perera 4/75, Shean Adithya 1/38, Nethum Basnayake 1/54

Maris Stella College, Negombo 110 (45.1) Shean Adithya 48, Kaveen Fernando 15, Kushan Wijerama 4/22, Chathum Bimsara 2/2, Chiran Neththaru 2/15, Tharush Damindu 2/38

Day 1 Stumps.

<<< Schools Cricket News >>>