Inaugural Battle of the Golden Blues ends in a tame draw

1st Battle of the Golden Blues - St. Joseph Vaz College vs St. Anthony’s College Wattala


St. Joseph’s College Wennappuwa faced off against St. Anthony’s College Wattala in the inaugural Battle of the Golden Blues on day two today (27th April) at the P. Saravanamuttu International Cricket Stadium.

St. Anthony’s College Wattala, batting first ended their innings on 236 thanks to a brilliant batting display from the 5th-year colorsman Amitha Sandeepa who scored an unbeaten 118 runs, thus taking Antonian’s first innings to a respectable total.

Dominic Fernando and Tharindu Eshan were the pick of the bowlers for St. Joseph Vaz College, the pair managed to pick up 4 and 3 wickets respectively.

Resuming play on day 2 St. Joseph Vaz College were at 41 runs for no loss overnight. Despite starting with a promising opening stand of 56 runs the Vazian innings failed to gain momentum largely due to Amitha Sandeepa’s off-spinning masterclass. Sandeepa once again the star performer for St. Anthony’s showcased his prowess with the ball just as he did with the bat. He finished with figures of 7 for 51 leading the bowling attack to restrict their rivals to 183 runs.

Dameesha Fernando top-scored for St. Joseph Vaz College by scoring 59 runs, Hansa Mihiranga and Dasun Perera also contributed to the Vazian innings by scoring 28 and 22 runs respectively.

When play was interrupted due to bad light, St. Anthony’s College were at 13 for the loss of 2 wickets in their second innings

According to the organizers’ rules, St. Anthony’s College was awarded the trophy for their first-innings win.

Award Winners

Player of the Match – Amitha Sandeepa (St. Anthonys College) 

Best Batter – Amitha Sandeepa (St. Anthonys College) 

Best Bowler – Dominic Fernando (St. Joseph Vaz College) 

Best Fielder – Chamod Sandeepa (St. Anthonys College)

Best All-Rounder –  Amitha Sandeepa (St. Anthonys College)

Brief Scores :

St. Anthonys College, Wattala 236 (74.5) Amitha Sandeepa 118*, Vihanga Rashmitha 38, Dinith Chamika 19, Dominic Fernando 4/12, Tharindu Eshan 3/27 & 13/2 (4) Dominic Fernando 2/1

St. Joseph Vaz College, Wennappuwa 183 (79.4) Dameesha Fernando 59, Hansa Mihiranga 28, Dasun Perera 22, Amitha Sandeepa 7/51, Madura Bashitha 2/50

Result – Match Drawn