Joes, Zahira end a low-scoring thriller in a draw

Singer U19 Division 1 Cricket Tournament 2019/20


Zahira College Colombo crossed over their fence to play neighboring St. Joseph’s College in a traditional fixture at Darley road. Two other games of the Singer U19 Division 1 Schools Cricket Tournament 2019 also came to a close today, 2nd October.

St. Joseph’s College, Colombo vs Zahira College, Colombo

The Zahirians won the toss and decided to take first lease of the crease. The Josephian bowlers made things extremely difficult for the visitors by depriving them of any loose deliveries. The Zahirians succumbed to the pressure and were bundled out for just 76 runs. 

Shalinda Senevirathne, Dunith Wellalage and Lakshan Gamage all bagged 2 wickets each while the lean right-arm seamer Ashan de Alwis led the bowling with 3 wickets for 14 runs. 

In reply, Joes got a fine start with the wicket-keeper batsman, Sheran Fonseka setting up the stage with 72 runs opening the batting. But wickets fell in a cluster thereafter resulting in them slipping to 149 runs for 9 wickets before declaring their innings.

Zahira College was bowled for 158 runs in the second-innings. Thanks to the fighting 83 runs by Aravinth Rajendran, Zahira had something to work with for their bowlers to save them from humiliation. 

It was the left-arm duo, Dunith Wellalage and Miranga Wickramage, who did the bulk of the bowling for St. Joseph’s College as they shared 9 wickets between them. Wellalage bagged a fifer.

86 runs were set as a target for the Jospehians with about 1 hour left in the game. The Zahirian bowlers did well with the close margin they had to save their alma mater from defeat. St. Joseph’s College were at 44 for 6 at close of play. 

Brief scores

Zahira College 76 (28.3):Imitiaz Slaza 25, Nurad Nazir 20, Ashan De Alwis 3/14, Shalinda Senevirathne 2/04, Dunith Wellalage 2/13, Lakshan Gamage 2/20 
& 158 (55.2):Aravinth Rajendran 83, Mohommed Shamaz 23, Dunith Wellalage 5/54, Miranga Wickramage 4/29

St. Joseph’s College 149/9d (54.3):Sheran Fonseka 72, Johanne de Zilva 20, Mohommed Mathi 3/16, Imitiaz Slaza 3/40, Aravinth Rajendran 2/19 
& 44/6 (15) :Mohommed Yusuf 3/21, Mohommed Madhi 2/07


Nethma scripts Ananda fightback with a hundred

Mahinda College, Galle vs Dharmapala College, Pannipitiya

Mahinda College won the toss and elected to bat first in this traditional game. The match was played at the Dharmapala Grounds in Pannipitiya. The Galle school scored 203 runs in their first-innings. Kaushitha Kodithuwakku was the top-scorer with 42 runs. Right-arm paceman Lakshitha Purasinghe was the pick of the bowlers with figures of 5 for 38. 

The innings of the host team was heavily disturbed by rain as more than half of day 2 was washed out. Only 28 overs of the Dharmapala innings was played and they ended at 58 for 3 with the game coming to a close as a draw.

Brief scores

Mahinda College 203 (83.5):Kaushitha Kodithuwakku 42, Subhanu Rajapaksha 35, Osindu Kavindya 26, Kavindu Lakshan 22, Lakshitha Purasinghe 5/38, Dineth Nelumdeniya 2/60

Dharmapala College :58/3 (28):Dineth Nelumdeniya 25*


Ton by Muditha gives Maliyadeva a huge leap ahead

Moratu Maha Vidyalaya vs St. Joseph Vaz College, Wennappuwa

Yet another traditional affair at Moratuwa where the Moratuwa school hosted the boys from Wennappuwa, saw the hosts score 112 runs in their first-innings. None of the batsmen really impressed as the top-score was just the 22 scored by Dilshan Dulakshana. Tharusha Fernando picked up 4 wickets for 11 runs. 

The efforts of the skipper Nipun Dhananjaya were not supported by his team as St. Joseph Vaz College were bowled out for 89 runs in their first-innings. The youth international star, Dhananjaya scored 54 runs.

Photos: Moratu Maha Vidyalaya vs St. Joseph Vaz College | U19 Cricket Tournament 2019/20

Dhananjaya made his statement better as he came back with a fifer to restrict Dharmapala College to 136 runs for the loss of 9 wickets. Niraj Kavishka scored 49 runs for the hosts.

The game ended in a draw after the hosts bowled 3 overs at the visitors. 

Brief scores

Moratu Maha Vidyalaya 112 (52):Dilshan Dulakshana 22, Sukitha Dewthilina 21, Tharusha Fernando 4/11, Nipun Dhananjaya 2/22 
& 136/9d (64.5):Niraj Kavishka 49, Nipun Dhananjaya 5/26, Tharusha Fernando 2/40

St. Joseph Vaz College 89 (38):Nipun Dhananjaya 54, Vishwa Didulana 6/46, Eran Hansamal 3/24 
& 4/1 (3)


>>> Click here for more Schools Cricket news <<<