Mahinda College thrash Isipathana with an innings win

Singer U19 Division I Cricket Tournament 2018/19


Seven games of the Singer U19 Division I Cricket Tournament were played today, 28th December. S. Thomas’ College, Mount Lavinia and Moratu Maha Vidyalaya fought at Moratuwa while Mahinda College, Galle and Isipathana College, Colombo ended their game at Galle.

Mahinda College, Galle vs Isipathana College, Colombo

The visiting Isipathana College won the toss and elected to bat first. Skipper Madushika Sandaruwan top-scored with an unbeaten 46 runs coming late down the order for Isipathana College. They scored 214 runs for their first-innings. Kushan Madusha asked a lot of questions with the ball in hand as he picked up 4 scalps for 56 runs.

Read: Devapathiraja wins first-innings; Wickets fall cheaply at Moratuwa

It was a quick knock from the Mahinda College boys as they racked 305 runs in no time. Vinura Dulsara topped the batting card with 73 runs while the left-armer, Savindu Uthsara picked up 3 wickets for 45 runs.

In the second-innings, Isipathana opener, Thevindu Dickwella went after bowlers in his regular fashion as he made a quick fire 31 runs. The rest of the team looked pathetic as they were wrapped up for 62 runs, handing Mahinda College an innings and 29-run win. It was Pasan Pethangoda who took charge of the bowling in this innings as he recorded a 5-wicket haul.

Brief Scores

Isipathana College, Colombo 214 (71) Madushika Sandaruwan 46*, Ravindu Rathnayaka 38, Kaliq Amath 29, Thevindu Dickwella 24, Kushan Madusha 4/56, Pasan Pethangoda 2/32 & 62 (19.4) Thevindu Dickwella 31, Pasan Pethangoda 5/23, Subhanu Rajapaksha 3/28, Kushan Madusha 2/07

Mahinda College, Galle 305 (87.1) Vinura Dulsara 73, Sadew Induwara 47, Danuja Induwara 41, Ushan Madushan 35*, Kausitha Kodituwakku 24, Kaveesha Pallihawadu 31, Savindu Uthasra 3/45, Thevindu Dickwella 2/40 Madushika Sandaruwa 2/48, Sithuka Gunawardena 2/82


S. Thomas’ College, Mount Lavinia vs Moratu Maha Vidyalaya

Following a 26-wicket day-one, the Thomians came out to bat at 30 for 6. From there on, desperate efforts of the former skipper, Delon Peiris (54) and the present skipper, Sithara Hapuhinna (31) took the team to 122 runs setting a promising target of 213 runs for Moratu Vidyalaya. The gritty off-spinner, Vishwa Didulana picked up 4 wickets to top the bowling chart.

Read: Kavishka Senadeera bowls Trinity College to victory

Following their whammy in the first-innings, Moratu Vidyalaya came back strongly with 166 runs for the loss of 6 wickets in the next outing. They were bowled out for 57 runs in the first-innings. Yet again it was another Nishan Madushka brilliance as he fared a match-saving knock of 105 runs not-out. Kalana Perera picked up 3 wickets for 31 runs. The game ended in a draw.

Brief Scores

S. Thomas’ College, Mount Lavinia 147 (47.5) Sithara Hapuhinna 26, Shalin de Mel 25, Eran Hansamal 5/41, Janitha Sewmith 2/18, Vishawa Didulana 2/28 & 122 (57.1) Delon Peris 54, Sithara Hapuhinna 31, Vishwa Didulana 4/45, Hashen Adithya 3/19, Eran Hansamal 2/47

Moratu Maha Vidyalaya, Moratuwa 57 (31.1)  Nishan Madushka 26, Delon Peiris 3/02, Dilmin Rathnayaka 3/06, Shannon Fernando 3/07 & 166/6 (73) Nishan Madushka 105*, Miraj Kavishka 21*, Kalana Perera 3/31, Delon Peiris 2/45


Trinity College, Kandy vs Nalanda College, Colombo (Mahela-Sanga Challenge Trophy)

After winning the toss, Nalanda skipper, Lakshitha Manasinghe, decided to bowl first. The game is being worked off at the Nalanda Grounds. The Trinity College openers, Pubudu Bandara and Agbo Amarasinghe looked at ease as they put up a 51-run stand for the first wicket. From then onwards, wickets kept falling at regular intervals as they settled down for 165 runs in their first-innings. Pubudu Bandara’s 35 runs was the top-score for Trinity College while Kaveesha Madurapperuma was the pick of the bowling for Nalanda College with figures of 3 for 12. Skipper Lakshitha Manasinghe also picked up 3 wickets for 48 runs.

Photos: Nalanda College vs Trinity College | Singer U19 Cricket Tournament 2018/19 – Day 01

The Nalanda openers was also looking good as they rotated the strike effortlessly before Dilhara Polgampola edged one around his hips to the wicket keeper. It was then that Trinity entered back into the scene as they picked another 4 wickets within the next 19 runs. The host looked sloppy then after as they ended the day at 123 for 7 wickets giving away all of them in the last session.

Brief Scores

Trinity College, Kandy 165 (48) Pubudu Bandara 35, Abishek Anandakumar 30, Agbo Amarasinghe 25, Avishka Senadeera 25, Kavishka Senadeera 24, Kaveesha Madurapperuma 3/12, Lakshitha Rasanjana 3/48

Nalanda College, Colombo 123/7 (51) Dilhara Polgampola 32, Ranidu de Silva 26, Kavishka Senadeera 3/48, Kavindu Dias 2/13


Maliyadeva College, Kurunegala vs Maris Stella College, Negombo

Maris Stella College are hosting the boys from the rock city, Maliyadewa College, Kurunegala at Katuneriya. Maris Stella won the toss and put the visitors to bat first. Maliyadeva scored only 128 runs in 53.4 overs. Muditha Premadasa hit 37 runs for Maliyadeva while the consistent Ravindu Fernando added another fifer to his tally.

Read: Devapathiraja wins first-innings; Wickets fall cheaply at Moratuwa

Maris Stella got a good start to their innings as they ended the day with Kevin Perera and Avantha Perera at the crease with scores of 52 and 37 respectively.

Brief Scores

Maliyadeva College, Kurunegala 128 (53.5) Muditha Premadasa 37, Kavin Bandara 22, Ravindu Fernando 5/42, Adeesha Keshan 3/36

Maris Stella College, Negombo 109/3 (28) Kevin perera 52*, Avantha Perera 37*, Brian Karunanayake 2/04


St. Sylvester’s College, Kandy vs St. Joseph’s College, Maradana

In this tournament encounter in Darley Road, the visitors were asked to bat first. After battling it for 64.3 overs, St. Sylvester’s posted 123 runs in their first innings. Usindu Nisansaka top-scored with 32 runs while Shalinda Senevirathne shined with the ball with a fifer to his name.

St. Joseph’s were at 115 for 4 by the close of play. The game will resume tomorrow for day-two.

Brief Scores

St. Sylvester’s College, Kandy 123 (64.3) Usindu Nisansaka 32, Shalinda Senevirathne 5/43, Dunith Wellalage 2/20

St. Joseph’s College, Colombo 115/4 (36) Dineth Jayakody 47, Shevon Daniel 27


Mahanama College, Colombo vs St. Servatius’ College, Matara

Mahanama College won the toss and elected to bat first at Uyanwatte Grounds, Matara. They posted 126 runs on board in 57.1 overs. Vinuka Rubasinghe scored 32 runs while Pasindu Manupriya and Chethaka Denuwan both picked up 2 wickets each.

St. Servatius’ College ended the day in the lead with 129 runs on board for the loss of 2 wickets.

Brief Scores

Mahanama College, Colombo 126 (57.1) Vinuka Rubasinghe 32, Dileesha Thuduwage 28, Chethaka Denuwan 3/22, Shashika Dulshan 3/33, Pasindu Manupriya 2/08

St. Servatius’ College, Matara 129/2 (37) Chethaka Denuwan 66*, Puspitha Dilshan 29, Visura Lakmin 32*


St. Anne’s College, Kurunegala vs Wesley College, Colombo

Wesley College won the toss and elected to field first. The visiting St. Anne’s College managed only 96 runs in their first outing. Movin Subasinghe was the pick of the bowling with figures of 4 wickets for 12 runs while Theuka Perera also accounted for 3 scalps.

By the close of play, Wesley College were also bowled out for 126 runs as the game gets interesting. Skipper Shenal Dangalle was the only successful batsman as he managed 68 runs with the bat. Pasindu Thennakkoon was the main weapon in the assault for St. Anne’s claiming 6 wickets to his name.  

Brief Scores

St. Anne’s College, Kurunegala 96 (48.5) Lasitha Warnasooriya 20, Movin Subasinghe 4/12, Thenuka Perera 3/05, Kavinda Dissanayake 2/30

Wesley College, Colombo 126 (42.2) Shenal Dangalle 68, Movin Subasinghe 20, Pasindu Thennakoon 6/21, Mayaz Muzammil 3/40


>>Click here for more Schools Cricket News<<