Matara Thomians win first 50-over clash; Ahan’s century lifts Royal

Singer U19 Division I Cricket Tournament 2019/20


The 50-over version of the Singer U19 Division I Cricket tournament 2019/20 kicked-off today while knockout matches of the two-day tournament resumed.

St. Joseph’s defeat Ananda, St. Thomas’ & St. Anthony’s reach Quarter Finals

St. Thomas’ College Matara, who knocked out D.S. Senanayake College from the two-day tournament in the Pre-Quarter Final which ended yesterday in Matara, edged out Dharmaraja College today in the 1st Pre-Quarter Final playoff of the U19 Division I limited-over tournament. The Thomian bowlers did extremely well to defend the mere 116 they made with the bat after winning the toss.

They will now meet the winner of the Pre-Quarter Final playoff between Royal College and Devapathiraja College, in the Pre-Quarter Final.

St. Thomas’ College, Matara vs Dharmaraja College, Kandy – L/O Pre-Quarter Final Playoff

Venue – Uyanwatte Stadium, Matara
Toss – St. Thomas’

St. Thomas’ College, Matara – 116 (30.4) Sanchitha Ranasinghe 24, Woshitha Amarasinghe 23, Yasitha Samararathne 3/14, Upendra Warnakulasooriya 3/20

Dharmaraja College, Kandy – 110 (48.4) Isuru Dananjaya 27, Harindu Jayasekara 3/26, Sachira Rashmika 2/21


Another Pre-Quarter Final of the U19 Division I 2-day tournament began today as Royal College hosted the Cambrians at Reid Avenue. Sri Lanka U19 cap Ahan Wickramasinghe starred for the home team with a brilliant century as they posted a competitive 215 for the 1st innings.

In reply, the Moratuwa boys lost 5 wickets by the end of the day, scoring 108 runs. The second and final day of the encounter promises excitement as Kavinda De Mel and Pasindu Pathum will resume from 107 runs behind against a formidable Royal bowling attack.

Royal College, Colombo vs Prince of Wales College, Moratuwa – Pre-Quarter Final

Venue – Royal College Grounds, Colombo
Toss – Royal

Royal College, Colombo – 215 (64.4) Ahan Wickramasingha 113*, Kamil Mishara 24, Isiwara Dissanayaka 21, Naduka Fernando 3/48, Kunchana Perera 2/23

Prince of Wales College, Moratuwa – 108/5 (34) Omesh Mendis 23, Kavinda De Mel 22*, Pasindu Pathum 22*, Tharindu Amarasingha 21, Gishan Balasooriya 3/19, Thevindu Senavirathna 2/15


>>For more school cricket news click here<<