Adishtan’s 100 earns win for Maliyadeva; Pavan ruins St. Joseph’s party

Schools U19 Cricket Tournament 2021

16th March U19 Schools Cricket 2021

Two games of the Division 1 Schools U19 Cricket Tournament – Tier A were played today (18th March) while three games in Tier B were also worked off. Two other traditional matches were also played around the Isle. 

Tier A

In the two games played in Tier A today, Maliyadeva College defeated Prince of Wales while St. Joseph’s College, Colombo suffered an 88-run loss against a strong Mahanama outfit.

Rishi Adishtan of Maliyadeva College was the star with the bat today as he scored a cracking ton against Prince of Wales College in their tournament opener. Behind him in the line was Pavan Ratnayake who amassed 93 runs to see his team home against the high-riding Joes. 

Mahanama’s right-arm leggie Achintha Supun was the pick of the bowlers in today’s games. He bagged 3 wickets for 15 runs to topple the Josepian outfit for just 125 runs. 

Yesith Rupasinghe of St. Joseph’s College also picked 3 wickets for 38 runs but ended up on the losing side.

Chief Scores

Mahanama College vs St. Joseph’s College

  • At CCC Ground, Colombo (Toss: Mahanama College, Colombo won & bat)

Mahanama College, Colombo 213/8 (50) 

Pavan Rathnayaka 93, Savindu Kavinda 36, Pulshan Rohana 23, Yesith Rupasingha 3/38, Vimukthi Deshan 2/26, Dunith Wellalage 2/42

St. Joseph’s College, Colombo 125 (35.1)

Sheran Fonseka 24, Achintha Supun 3/15, Sadishan Chamodya 2/15, Sethum Kenula 2/16


Maliyadeva College vs Prince of Wales College

  • At Maliyadeva College Ground, Kurunegala (Toss: Maliyadeva College won & bat)

Maliyadeva College, Kurunegala 289/8 (50)

Rishi Adishtan 100, Thimira Chandrasena 58, Kalindu Ranmal 38, Chaluka Athapaththu 31*

Prince of Wales College, Moratuwa 253 (47.1)

Ashan Fernando 56, Vidath Direndra 43, Anupa Bandara 33, Omesh Mendis 28, Chaluka Atapattu 2/22, Hasindu Ruwanpura 2/46


Tier B

Isipathana College recorded a 7-wicket victory over St. Joseph Vaz College, thanks to a gritty 90 runs from Tharush Nethsara at the top of the order. Vishwa Rajapaksha scored a fighting half-century for St. Joseph Vaz College but wasn’t fortunate enough to earn a win. 

No other batsman in Tier B put up a noteworthy innings with the bat. 

Isipathana skipper, Thevindu Dickwella, topped the bowling card with a match-winning performance of 5 for 21. Apart from Dickwella, Madushan De Silva (St. Servatius’ College, Matara) and Hansaja Hiruna (Maris Stella College, Negombo) shined with 4 wickets each. 

Chief Scores

Dharmasoka College vs St. Servatius’ College

  • At Uyanwatta Stadium, Matara (Toss: St Servatius College opt to field)

Dharmasoka College, Ambalangoda 115 (36.1)

Kaveen Samarahewa 43, Maneesha Rashmika 23, Madushan De Silva 4/22, Kushan Wijerama 3/24, Thaush Damimdu Sankalpa 2/21

St. Servatius’ College, Matara116/8 (46)

Diniru Abeywickramasinghe 47, Chirath Neththaru 20, Aroshana De Silva 2/18, Sahan Sankalpa 2/31


St. Joseph Vaz College vs Isipathana College

  • At BRC Ground, Colombo (Toss: St. Joseph Vaz College won & bat)

St. Joseph Vaz College, Wennappuwa 155 (49.3)

Vishwa Rajapaksha 54, Thevindu Dickwella 5/21, Kavindu Amantha 2/26, Randunu Gunarathne 2/32

Isipathana College, Colombo 156/3 (30.5)

Tharush Nethsara 90, Savindu Uthsara 38*


Dharmapala College vs Maris Stella College

  • At Dharmapala College Ground, Pannipitiya (Toss: Maris Stella College won & field)

Dharmapala College, Pannipitiya 184 (45.5)

Pasindu Theekshana 34, Rashmitha Emantha 31, Hansaja Hiruna 4/39, Amantha Perera 2/27, Priyashan Silva 2/40

Maris Stella College, Negombo 84/1 (18)

Kaveen Fernando 34*, Chemindu Weerawansa 29*


Traditional Matches

In the traditional fixtures, Ananda College played S. Thomas’ College at Mount Lavinia while St. Peter’s College, Bambalapitiya locked horns with Trinity College, Kandy at Bambalapitiya. 

The Sri Lanka youth cap, Yasiru Rodrigo, ran riots in the Ananda batting line up at the school by the sea. The left-arm seamer accounted for 5 scalps giving away 63 runs. 

At Bambalapitiya though, was a batsmen’s showdown as two Peterites recorded half-centuries. St. Peter’s skipper, Nipunaka Fonseka struck a steady 76 runs to give a formidable total to his team. His cause was well aided by the opener, Shenal Botheju who scored a stylish 51 runs.

Young kid in the block, Manula Kularathne, picked up his first fifer in first XI cricket for Trinity College. The left-arm fast bowler bagged 5 wickets for 60 runs. 

Chief Scorers

Ananda College vs S. Thomas’ College

  • At S. Thomas’ College Ground, Mt. Lavinia (Toss: Ananda College won & bat)

Ananda College, Colombo 217 (74.2)

Hansaja Jayasinghe 47, Anuda Jayaweera 45, Kanishka Ranthilakage 32, Yasiru Rodrigo 5/63

S. Thomas’ College, Mount Lavinia 25/1 (13)


St. Peters’ College vs Trinity College

  • At St. Peter’s College Ground, Colombo (Toss: St. Peter’s College won & bat)

St. Peters’ College, Colombo 277/9d (72.5)

Nipunaka Fonseka 76, Shenal Botheju 51, Wanuja Kumara 45, Shanuka Galagoda 26, Niman Umesh 24, Manula Kularathna 5/60, Abhishek Anandakumar 3/81

Trinity College, Kandy 85/2 (20)

Umair Raizan 30*, Thewin Amarasingha 28, Pawan Pathiraja 20*