Maheesh Theekshana mystery too much for Maliyadeva


Here’s a round up of the matches which took place today (12th Saturday) in the Singer U19 Division I Cricket Tournament.

St Benedict’s College v Maliyadeva College

Maheesh Theekshana’s 11 wicket haul earned St Benedict’s College a massive win over Maliyadeva College by an innings and 43 runs today at Kurunegala.

The hosts resumed play with 37 for 1 on board.  They were soon found in all sorts of trouble with Mahesh Theekshana and Malinda Perera taking wickets in turns. Theekshana bagged 4 wickets while Malinda took 3 as Maliyadeva were cleaned up for 129 runs.

Click here for more schools matches happened today

The visitors enforced the follow on with a lead of 162 runs. Theekshana kicked off from where he left off and ran through the batting line up with ease. He picked up 7 for 37 to end the match in just 37.5 overs. There were a few starts from the host batsmen but they were bamboozled by the mystery of Theekshana.

Santhush makes it three in a row

Here’s a round up of the matches which took place in the Singer U19 Division I Cricket Tournament today. Dharmapala…

Early on, the Benedictines posted 291 for 9 with a century from left handed Shehan Fernando.

St. Benedicts College, Colombo 291/9d (83) Shehan Fernando 123, Bryan Oshvin 44, Malinda Perera 22*, Kaviru Perera 21, Vidath Batepola 4/68, Kaveen Bandara 2/64

Maliyadeva College, Kurunegala 129 (46) Supun Sumanarathne 58, Nisanjaya Hettiarachchi 20, Maheesh Theekshana 4/50, Malinda Perera 3/27, & F/O 119 (37.5) Muditha Premadasa 39, Supun Sumanarathne 26, Bryan Karunanayake 24, Ameesh Thennakoon 20, Maheesh Theekshana 7/37, Malinda Perera 3/34

Dharamaraja College v St Servatius College

This Group C encounter started today at Dharamaraja College Ground in Kandy. The home side won the toss and elected to bat first. They slowly but steadily accumulated the runs with Isuru Dayananda top scoring with 69. 279 was what they managed to post. With the ball for the visitors, Sashika Dilshan picked up 4 for 52.

At stumps on Day 1, St Servatius College in reply were 87 for 3.

Dharmaraja College, Kandy 279 (71.2) Isuru Dayananda 69, Sachintha Senanayaka 21, Dulaj Bandara 21, Shashika Dulshan 4/52, Keshara Nuwantha 3/25, Ruwinda Rochana 2/02

St. Servatius College, Matara 87/3 (27) Pushpitha Dilshan 40, Kesara Nuwantha 26, Yasitha Samararathna 2/05

Dharmasoka College v Zahira College

Galle International Cricket Stadium hosted this Group B encounter today. Dharmasoka won the toss and elected to bat first. An all-round bowling performance from the Zahira College bowlers saw Dharmashoka cleaned up for 128 runs.

In response, Zahira College were 69 for 3 at stumps on Day 1.

Dharmasoka College, Ambalangoda 128 (36) Aroshan De Zoysa 42, Chamidu Dilshan 27*, Sanula Gunarathne 22, Aravinth 3/08, M Dilhan 3/37, Ayish Slasa 2/31

Zahira College, Colombo 69/3 (30) Chatura Dilrukshan 33, Yasith Samaradivakara 26

Dharmapala College v St Anne’s College

Dharmapala College earned first innings points in their Group D encounter against St Anne’s College today at Pannipitiya. Play resumed with the boys from Kurunegala having 71 for 3 on board. They lost their final 7 wickets for just 87 runs as they conceded a first innings lead of 42. Dilshan Silva picked up a five-for for the hosts.

Mudith, Chamath & Methushan hand defeat to Lumbini

Lumbini College Colombo played host to D.S. Senanayake College, Colombo today, 1st of January, in a tournament…

Dharmapala came on to bat for their 2nd innings and they were 120 for 8 when the umpires called off play.

Early on, Dharmapala College was restricted to 200 runs after they elected to bat first.

Dharmapala College, Pannipitiya 200 (57.5) Dulaj Ashen 67, Malith Sandakalum 24, Avishka Hasarinda 22, Amila Dananjaya 21, Pasindu Thennakoon 4/33, M Muzammil 3/61, Pivithu Fernando 2/20 & 120/8d (35.1) Amila Dayanaka 48, Naveen Madushanka 36, Kavindu Ranasinghe 4/30,

St. Anne’s College, Kurunegala 158 (97.1) Muiz Raseen 45, Kavindu Ekanayake 40, Kavindu Ranasinghe 32, Dilshan Silva 5/17, Chamidu Samarasinghe 4/39,

St Peter’s College v St Sebastian’s College

St Peter’s College seamers earned them a first innings victory over St Sebastian’s College in their traditional encounter at Bambalapitiya today. Play resumed on Day 2, with 21 for 3 on board for St Sebastian’s College in their 2nd innings.

Click here for more schools matches happened today

Shivan Perera and Santhush Gunathilaka bagged 2 wickets in the morning session to reduce St Sebastian’s to 128 for 8 but, gritty knocks by Vinuja Ranasinghe and Tashik Perera saved the visitors from an outright defeat. They managed to post 203 runs for their first innings.

The Peterites came on to bat again and were 99 for 3 with Dinith Anjula unbeaten on 67.

Early on, Santhush Gunathilaka’s 3rd century on the trot helped St Peter’s College post 330 for 5 after they were asked to bat first.

St. Peter’s College, Colombo 330/5d (84) Santhush Gunathilake 123, Ranmith jayasena 88, Banuka De Silva 41, Dinith Anjula 23, Kalana Sandeep 2/57  & 99/3 (29) Dinith Anjula 67*

St. Sebastian’s College, Moratuwa 203 (79.3) Vinuja Ranasinghe 60*, Nuwanidu Fernando 43, Tashiq Perera 39, Tariq Saboor 2/30, Santhush Gunathilake 2/32, Shivan Perera 2/52

Nalanda College v DS Senanayake College

Nalanda College secured yet another first innings victory over D S Senanayaka College today at Nalanda Grounds. Play resumed on Day 2 with the beginning of the DSS innings. Pasindu Adithya starred in the innings with a century but it was all in vain as they succumbed to 259 runs. Skipper Lakshitha Rasanjana bagged 4 wickets for Nalanda College.

Nalanda College were 124 for no loss in their second innings when play was called off with Avishka Perera unbeaten after a quick fire 81.

Early on, Lakshitha Rasanjana’s century helped Nalanda College post 309 after he won the toss and elected to bat first.

Nalanda College, Colombo 309 (98.3) Lakshitha Rasanjana 141, Moksha Sankalpa 55, Mahima Weerakoon 36, Ranindu De Silva 27, Muditha Lakshan 3/83, Chamath Yatawara 3/98 & 124/0 (32) Awishka Perera 81*, Ranidu De Silva 43*

D.S. Senanayake College, Colombo 259 (68.5) Pasindu Adithya 108, Amitha Dabare 38, Chamath Yatawara 25, Abishek Liyanaarachchi 25, Lakshitha Rasanjana 4/68, Kaveesh Madurapperuma 3/39, Raveen De Silva 2/75