Richmond College clinched the Tier A title

U19 Division I schools cricket tournament

Trinity College vs Richmond College

Trinity College, Kandy and Richmond College, Galle resumed their battle in the U19 Division I schools cricket tournament tier ‘A’ final for day 3, as well as Royal College and Wesley College resumed their encounter yesterday (9th April) for day 02 in their relegation game at Nalanda College grounds.

In Tier B segment St. Peter’s College and Lumbini College met each other in the final as MCA ground, Colombo while Dharmasoka College, Ambalangoda and St. Sylvesters College, Kandy met in their relegation match at Wesley College Ground, Colombo along with Dharmapala College, Pannipitiya and Ananda College, Colombo at St. Sebastian’s College Grounds, Moratuwa.

Batting first, Trinity College scored 203 and in reply to Richmond College scored 304 to took the lead in the first innings. 

Later, the Trinity College players, who entered the field for their second innings trailing by 101 runs, scored 38 runs at the end of the second day of the match, and today they declared their innings at 254 runs with the loss of 9 wickets.

Accordingly, the rival Richmond College players were given a target of 154 runs for the victory and at the end of the match they had scored 36 runs for the loss of a wicket. The match was drawn but accordingly, with the win in the first innings, Richmond College managed to become the champions of this year’s under-19 Tier A section. 

Brief Scores ; 

Trinity College (1st inn) – 203/10 (89.5) Dimantha Mahavithana 54, Viduka Dhammage 31, Supun Vaduge 40, Tarana Wimaladharma 19, Kaweesha Induwara 2/46, Sihat Ramanayake 3/38, Sharon Abhishek 4/71 


Richmond College (1st inn) – 304/10 (89.1) Chehan Subasinghe 31, Nikhil Jayaweera 139, Seneth Sisan 39, Shehan de Soyza 50, Tharana Wimaladharma 4/82, Supun Vaduge 2/16 


Trinity College (2nd inn) – 254/9d (99.2) Dinusha Peiris 20, Supun Vaduge 96, Manula Kularatne 23, Tharana Wimaladharma 57, Sihat Ramanayake 2/66, Kaweesha Induwara 2/49, Sharon Abhishek 2/68, Yuri Kottigoda 2/ 31 


Richmond College (2nd inn) – 36/1 (11.2) Chehan Subasinghe 17 not out, Tamindu Pradeepta 15, Dinuka Thennakoon 1/01 


Match was drawn

A competitive score from St. Peter’s to kick off the Tier B final today. In this match, St. Peter’s College captain who won the toss chose to bat first scored 291 all out for their first innings with eight batsmen scoring double figures. 

Shannon Rodrigo managed to take the first wicket of Lumbini in their reply innings. But after that, Nabeel Rajuddin and Ashan Shanika, who came together, managed to put together an unbeaten 57-run partnership for the 2nd wicket. 

Brief Scores ; 

St. Peter’s College (1st inn) – 291 /10 (87.5) Oveen Salgadu 41, Dilana Damsara 33, Vishen Halembage 32, Asadisa De Silva 46, Shannon Rodrigo 29, Lashmika Perera 34, Chamindu Perera 35, Sahan Kaushalya 3/60, Ushan Satsara 2/55, Praveen Manisha 3/72 


Lumbini College (1st inn) – 57/1 (10.0) Nabeel Rajuddin 37 not out, Ashan Shanika 14 not out, Shannon Rodrigo 1/16 


Stumps day 01 

The relegation match of Tier A between Royal College versus Wesley College ended up in a draw as Royal survived by winning the 1st innings of the match. Lithum Senuja scored a brilliant knock of 76 while Jethon contributed a half century from his bat as well for Wesley. Wesley college was restricted to 276 all out in their 1st innings. In Reply royal college scored a mammoth score of 321 for the loss of 9 wickets in 85.5 overs. Hirun Matheesha, Dinura Senaratne and Nethwin Dharmarate scored half centuries on behalf of the team. 

Brief Scores ; 

Wesley College (1st inn) – 276/10 (85.4) Lithum Senuja 76, Jethon Wyman 50, Linal Subasinghe 36, Yenula Bandara 3/60, Nethwin Dharmarathne 2/27, Ramiru Perera 2/44 


Royal College (1st inn) – 321/9 (85.5) Nethwin Dharmarathne 78, Dinura Senaratna 52, Hirun Matheesha 58, Sakesh Minon 3/58, Nilupul Liyanage 2/26, Linal Subasinghe 2/72 


Match was drawn 

In Tier B relegation match Ananda college won the toss and elected to ball first. Dharmapala college in their first innings scored 114 all out for 39.2 overs. Bisara Anjana the skipper just fell short for his half century by getting dismissed at 48 runs. Ananda college scored a mammoth score of 329 runs for 5 wickets in just 58 overs. There were 3 half centuries by Kenul, Ayesh and Iruth while 3 other batters contributed by scoring 40+ runs. 

Brief Scores ; 

Dharmapala College (1st inn) – 114/10 (39.2) Bisara Anjana 48, Ahinsa Nainayake 3/22, Kaveesha Mendis 2/31, Ruvishan Perera 2/22, Yasandu Kiriella 2/14


Ananda College (1st inn) – 329/5 (58) Kenul De soyza 69, Ayesh Shashimal 56, Iruth Gimshan 58, Thimoth Pathinayake 2/49 


Stumps day 01

The other relegation match of Tier B happened at Wesley college ground. St. Sylvesters College, Kandy won the toss and selected to Ball first. The first innings of Dharmashoka college restricted to 189 all out at 56.1 overs. In reply the lads from Kandy scored 142 runs for the loss of 5 wickets at the end of the day. The skipper Randul of Dharmashoka College scored a superb knock of 94 runs being the highest in the lineup. None of the batters from St. Sylvester college managed to get past the half century mark so far in the game. The two openers built a solid 1st wicket partnership of 79 runs. 

Brief Scores ; 

Dharmashoka College (1st inn) – 189/10 (56.1) Randul Samarahewa 94, Senitha Halambage 56, Nimesh Silva 3/54, Arusha Jayasinghe 3/40 


St. Sylvesters College (1st inn) – 329/5 (58) Wageesha Hansala 49, Kashyapa Dissanayaka 46, Iruth Gimshan 58, Jithira Sansika 4/33, Senitha Halambage 1/46 


Stumps day 01