Home Cricket Schools Cricket All-round Wellalage gives Joes edge on see-saw day

All-round Wellalage gives Joes edge on see-saw day

Singer Schools U19 Division 1 two-day final


The pendulum kept swinging both ways in the Singer Schools U19 Division 1 two-day final, but St. Joseph’s had their noses slightly ahead when stumps were drawn on day 1.

The Thomians won the toss and opted to bat first as their skipper Sithara Hapuhinna himself decided to enjoy excellent batting conditions.

Read More: Joes hammer Sebs through to the final

Hapuhinna hit the ball to all parts of the Royal College grounds in Colombo, as he raced to a century in the opening session.

The Thomians who had made scores in excess of 500 in their quarterfinal and semifinal, had set themselves up for another massive score against the Josephians.

The Josephian skipper Ashian Daniel got one to turn and bounce out of no where right after the break to have Hapuhinna caught at slip for 117 off just 127 balls, as the flood gates all of a sudden opened for the Thomians.

They lost their last 8 wickets from their on for just 49 runs, as the Josephians made a grand comeback into the match.

Photos: S. Thomas’ College vs St. Joseph’s College | U19 Div I Two Day Cricket Tournament 2018/19 – Final – Day 1

The chief tormentor was Dunith Wellalage who strangled the Thomians with his left arm spin, while he got good support from fellow spinners Daniel and Shalinda Senenviratne who capture two wickets apiece. Wellalage ended with figures of 5/40 after conceding 19 runs off his first two overs.

The Josephians lost Johanne De Zylwa early on in their reply before Dinal Anuradha and Sheran Fonseka steadied the ship to take the Josephians to 49/1.

A mix-up between the duo ended the stand as the Josephians lost 3/11 to be precariously placed at 60/4.

Dineth Jayakody and Dunith Wellalage made sure the Josephians had no further hiccups as they put on an unbroken stand of 60* runs, to take the Josephians to 120/4 at close – 96 runs away from the Thomians’ first innings score.


S. Thomas’ College
216/10 (59.1) & 67/2 (12.2)
St. Joseph’s College
269/10 (72)
Sithara Hapuhinna c Lakshan Gamage b Ashen Daniel11712721192.13
Shalin De Mel c Johanne De Zilva b Shalinda Senevirathne12292041.38
Ryan Fernando c Sheran Fonseka b Lakshan Gamage24453053.33
Yohan Perera c Sachintha Ravindu b Ashen Daniel14502028.00
Ravindu De Silva b Dunith Wellalage19333057.58
Kishan Munasinghe lbw b Dunith Wellalage160016.67
Umayanga Suwaris b Dunith Wellalage5111045.45
Kalana Perera c Yesith Rupasinghe b Dunith Wellalage01000.00
Dellon Peiris c Johanne De Zilva b Shalinda Senevirathne21404052.50
Thevin Bimsara Eriyagama lbw b Dunith Wellalage01000.00
Shannon Fernando not out013000.00
Extras3 (b 0 , lb 1 , nb 1, w 1, pen 0)
Total216/10 (59.1 Overs, RR: 3.65)
Fall of Wickets 1-58 (13.1) Shalin De Mel, 2-123 (26.5) Ryan Fernando, 3-167 (39.3) Sithara Hapuhinna, 4-174 (43.1) Yohan Perera, 5-175 (44.1) Kishan Munasinghe, 6-181 (46.5) Umayanga Suwaris, 7-181 (47) Kalana Perera, 8-198 (54.4) Ravindu De Silva, 9-198 (54.5) Thevin Bimsara Eriyagama, 10-216 (59.1) Dellon Peiris,
Lakshan Gamage942813.11
Johanne De Zilva714706.71
Ashen Daniel2016123.05
Shalinda Senevirathne8.103424.20
Dunith Wellalage1534553.00
Johanne De Zilva c & b Thevin Bimsara Eriyagama12241050.00
Sheran Fonseka c Sithara Hapuhinna b Kalana Perera17541031.48
Dinal Anuradha run out (Shalin De Mel)18443040.91
Dineth Jayakody c Dellon Peiris b Kalana Perera44654067.69
Dilesh Perera lbw Kishan Munasinghe b Shannon Fernando471057.14
Dunith Wellalage c Kalana Perera b Thevin Bimsara Eriyagama8810410184.62
Sachintha Ravindu c & b Shannon Fernando34515066.67
Lakshan Gamage b Kalana Perera10190052.63
Yesith Rupasinghe b Dellon Peiris23414056.10
Ashen Daniel not out11201055.00
Shalinda Senevirathne b Dellon Peiris01000.00
Extras8 (b 0 , lb 3 , nb 3, w 2, pen 0)
Total269/10 (72 Overs, RR: 3.74)
Fall of Wickets 1-22 (8.1) Johanne De Zilva, 2-49 (19.2) Dinal Anuradha, 3-55 (22.1) Sheran Fonseka, 4-60 (23.5) Dilesh Perera, 5-130 (38.5) Dineth Jayakody, 6-192 (52.4) Sachintha Ravindu, 7-218 (58.5) Lakshan Gamage, 8-243 (64.4) Dunith Wellalage, 9-269 (71.3) Yesith Rupasinghe, 10-269 (71.3) Ashen Daniel,
Kalana Perera2019734.85
Shalin De Mel20402.00
Thevin Bimsara Eriyagama602624.33
Yohan Perera10202.00
Shannon Fernando1814922.72
Dellon Peiris1124424.00
Kishan Munasinghe31702.33
Umayanga Suwaris1103703.36

Sithara Hapuhinna c Sachintha Ravindu b Dunith Wellalage38412192.68
Shalin De Mel c Lakshan Gamage b Ashan De Alwis24272088.89
Ravindu De Silva not out450080.00
Extras1 (b 0 , lb 0 , nb 1, w 0, pen 0)
Total67/2 (12.2 Overs, RR: 5.43)
Fall of Wickets 1-49 (9.2) Shalin De Mel, 2-38 (12.1) Sithara Hapuhinna,
Lakshan Gamage10808.00
Ashan De Alwis611813.00
Yesith Rupasinghe201708.50
Dunith Wellalage3.202417.50