Viran Chamuditha’s splendid knock seal a thrilling win for Galle

U17 Sri Lanka Youth League 2023

U17 Sri Lanka Youth League 2023

Team Kandy and Team Galle registered wins on day 3 of the ongoing U17 Sri Lanka Youth League, played today (24th August) in Colombo.

Kandy secured their second victory by defeating Colombo South by 4 wickets at SSC Grounds in Colombo. In the match, Colombo South chose to bat first but was limited to 35/3 in 6 overs. Isuru Nidarshana, the opening batter, played a dominant innings of 60 off 56 balls, guiding his team to a total of 203 in 46.5 overs. Dineth Sithumina (40) and Deneth Priyanga (32) also contributed down the order. Senura Gihan and Dasun Welianga each took 3 wickets for Kandy.

In response, Kandy encountered early setbacks, but Isuru Pannala’s well-made fifty kept them in control. Lakvin Abeysinghe and Ahmed Nahyam contributed 36 and 24*, respectively as Kandy achieved the target in 41.5 overs with 6 wickets lost.

>>Thrilling wins for Colombo North and Colombo South

In the parallel match, Dambulla elected to bat first but was dismissed for 208 by Galle. Yasmin Kalhara top-scored with 41, while Pansilu Ranasinghe added 34. Kanishka Rasanga delivered an impressive performance, taking 3/23 in 10 overs, and Viran Chamuditha, Yuri Koththigoda, and Malith Mihiranga secured two wickets each.

Chasing 209 for victory, Galle struggled and lost 6 wickets for 90 runs. However, the ninth batter, Viran Chamuditha, played a remarkable innings of 85* in 68 balls with 12 fours and 1 six, guiding Galle to a thrilling 2-wicket triumph. Despite Rajithkumar Newton’s 3/43 and Dimath Abeysinghe’s 2/32 for Dambulla, they couldn’t prevent Galle’s victory.

Brief Scores:

Colombo South vs Kandy (at SSC Grounds)

Colombo South – 203 (46.5): Isuru Nidarshana 60, Dineth Sithumina 40, Deneth Priyanga 32, Senura Gihan 3/33, Dasun Welianga 3/39

Kandy – 205/6 (41.5): Isuru Pannala 68, Lakwin Abeysinghe 36, Ranuka Malaviarachchi 2/45, Rashan Navanjana 2/45

Result: Kandy won by 4 wickets

Galle and Dambulla (at CCC Grounds)

Dambulla – 208 (49.4): Yasmin Kalhara 41, Pansilu Ranasinghe 34, Kanishka Rasanga 3/23

Galle – 209/8 (49.3): Viran Chamuditha 85*, Rajithkumar Newton 3/43, Dimath Abeysinghe 2/32

Result: Galle won by 2 wickets