Ranchagoda and Bandara crowned champions at 75th National Table Tennis Championship

75th National Table Tennis Championship


Nimesh Ranchagoda and Bimandee Bandara took home the championship titles of the 75th National Table Tennis Championship organized by the Table Tennis Association of Sri Lanka, powered by Yeti Products, Githmi Sports Ambalangoda & Insee Cement.

Read : Sri Lankans in the Table Tennis World Rankings

The final matches were worked off over the last weekend at the S. Thomas’ Indoor Stadium Mount Lavinia. Nimesh Ranchagoda of Sri Lanka Navy won his maiden Men’s Singles title beating his opponent Hiruna Warusavithana a product of Ananda College, Colombo in the final. Ranchagoda confidently stepped into the game as he secured his win with a 4-1 [11-9, 11-14, 11-6, 11-9, 11-6] scoreline.

Bimandee Bandara of Hillwood College Kandy won her second national title [First in 2018] defeating Maneesha Shalindi of Dharmasoka College, Ambalangodain in straight sets 13-11, 11-5, 11-8, 12-10 in the final.

The Men’s Doubles finals featured the two finalists of the men’s singles, as they teamed up with their brothers, Thisas Ranchagoda [brother of Nimesh] and Supuna Waruavithana of University of Moratuwa [brother of Hiruna]. The Ranchagodas finished victorious.

Ishara Madurangi of Sri Lanka Ports Authority and Hansani Piumila of Sri Lanka Navy were crowned champions at the Women’s Doubles. Ayla Chitty of Ladies’ College and Bimandee Bandara were left with the runner up title, despite running the champions close 9-11, 11-9, 6-11, 11-9, 11-7.

Ishara Madurangi and Chameera Ginige of University of Sri Jayawardanepura clinched the Mixed Doubles title battling against Sanduni Prabuddhika of Dharmasoka College, Ambalangoda and Isuru Anjana of SL Navy.

Umesh Niluminda of SL Army and Hashini Sandeepanie of Government Survey’s Association won the Men’s & Women’s consolation finals respectively.

The finalists and semi finalists of the Men’s and Women’s singles were awarded with attractive cash prizes. Ranchagoda and Bandara received Rs. 25,000 each and runners-up of the same category were awarded Rs. 15,000. The awards for the respective winners were distributed by the Chief Guest Dilshan Balasuriya, Director of Yeti Products and Anura Lal, Chairman of the Githmi Sports Ambalangoda & Incee Cement.

>>Click Here For More Table Tennis News<<