The stage is set to host the South Asian Youth Table Tennis Championship 2024

The stage is set to host the South Asian Youth Table Tennis Championship 2024


The prestigious South Asian Youth Table Tennis Championship is upon us, with Sri Lanka proudly hosting the event from May 26th to 29th, 2024, at the Kandy Municipal Council Indoor Stadium. This exciting competition promises to showcase the best young talents in the region, with athletes from India, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Maldives, and Nepal already confirmed to participate.

Here’s a deeper dive into the details as you can witness future champions in the making as the tournament features both Under-19 and Under-15 categories for boys and girls. The championship will feature a thrilling mix of team and individual events. Team events (Singles, Doubles, and Mixed Doubles) will take place on May 26th and 27th, fostering camaraderie and strategic teamwork. Individual events (Singles, Doubles, and Mixed Doubles) will follow on May 28th and 29th, allowing players to shine with their unique skills.

The championship will be conducted following the current Laws of Table Tennis and Regulations for International Competitions, ensuring a fair and standardized platform for all athletes.

Victors in both team and individual categories, across both Under-19 and Under-15 divisions, will be rewarded with coveted gold medals. This prestigious recognition will undoubtedly fuel the passion and determination of these young players.

Sri Lanka, having last hosted the SAYTTC in 2017, will be looking to capitalize on home court advantage. The SAYTTC serves not only as a competitive platform but also fosters friendly rivalry and cultural exchange among South Asian nations.

With the draw scheduled for May 25th, anticipation is building for this high-octane event. Get ready to witness the future stars of South Asian table tennis battle it out for glory in beautiful Kandy!

Sri Lanka Squads announced for South Asian Youth Table Tennis Championship 2024:


  • Shafiullah Akram (Captain)
  • Janith Batugedara
  • Diran Hamer
  • Saluka Premachandra
  • Vinuka Gunawardhane (Stand by)


  • Bimandee Bandara (Captain)
  • Tamadi Kavindya
  • Divya Dharani
  • Lesanya Sethumadee
  • Sandithi Jayasinghe (Stand By)


  • Akeain Bojith (Captain)
  • Naviru Nethsitha
  • Agasthya Ananditha
  • Senul Rathnayake (Stand By)


  • Yoshini Jayawardhane (Captain)
  • Mithuli Sahanya
  • Samindi Weerassoriya
  • Mekalya Fernando (Stand By)

ThePapare is ready to bring you the latest updates of international and local sports that are heating up day by day. Stay tuned with ThePapare, Sri Lanka’s number one sports channel.