Sri Lanka to Nepal for SAFF U18 Championship

SAFF U18 Championship 2019

Sri Lanka Squad - SAFF U18 Championship 2019

The Football Federation of Sri Lanka (FFSL) announced a 20 man squad who will take part in this year’s SAFF U18 Championship 2019 which will kick off on 20th September in Nepal.

No SAFF events in Sri Lanka in 2020

The South Asian Football Federation (SAFF) held ……

Sri Lanka will be taking part in this year’s championship for the first time in the competition’s history. The bi-annual tournament started in 2015 and was hosted by Nepal; the second edition in 2017 was hosted by Bhutan.

Nepal were crowned champions on both occasions, with India and Bangladesh making the finals once each. This year 6 teams will be battling out for the title which is played as an U18 tournament instead of U19 one, as it was in previous editions.

Related Coverage;

Sri Lanka is grouped with India and Bangladesh in group B and will face a stiff challenge to get out of the group. Both India and Bangladesh beat Sri Lanka comprehensively in the recent SAFF U15 tournament.

The top 2 teams in each group will advance to the Semi Finals on the 27th of September and the Final will be staged on the 29th of September.

The team his coached by Mohamed Amanulla, a former National Striker and Head Coach of Renown SC. He is assisted by former National Player and Head Coach of Pelicans SC Isuru Perera.

Shenal Sandesh from St. Joseph’s College, Colombo will be leading the team with Mohamed Mushfir of Zahira College Colombo as his deputy.

The Sri Lanka squad does comprise of experienced school boy players who recently excelled even in the Dialog Champions League, playing for leading clubs in the country.

Full Squad:

Shenal Sandesh (St. Joseph’s College Colombo), Mohamed Shakir, Mohamed Mushfir, Hasan Raza, Mohamed Sajid (Zahira College, Colombo), M. Pirasanth, P. Rexon (St. Henry’s College Jaffna), Gayath Rajapaksha (Nissanka MV Kurunegala), Hasika Navoda (St. Joseph’ College, Anuradhapura), Shishan Prabuddha (Royal College, Colombo), Mohamed ShafranAbdul Basith (Hameed Al Hussenie College)Mohamed Kurshid (St. Benedict’s College, Colombo), Rehan Brayan (Rahula College, Matara), Thalal Shihab (Duthiyans SC), Avishka Deshan (De Mazenod College, Kandana), K. Thenushan (Kilinochchi), Mohamed Rikaz (Vision International College, Kandy), Gihan Sandeepa Waas (Maris Stella College, Negombo), Mohamed Mursith (Kinniya Central Kinniya)

>>for more Football News Click Here<<