SLC names 10 players to be included in LPL squads

Lanka Premier League 2021


Following the Lanka Premier League Season 2 draft that was held on the 9th of November, where there were a number of interesting picks and omissions, Sri Lanka Cricket made the following statement.

Read More : Mahela questions player selection for LPL season 02

Sri Lanka Cricket wishes to announce that the Player Draft of the Lanka Premier League 2021 was conducted with utmost transparency with clear processes and procedures set in place on the criteria of selection of the players and also clear guidelines are given on the same to the franchise holders.

For this year’s edition, the Lanka Premier League 2021 received 673 applications from foreign players expressing their interest to be included in the player draft, whilst 358 local Cricketers, (including players who have entered into central and domestic contracts with the SLC) who were keen to represent the Domestic presence at the LPL was included in the ‘Player Draft’ following recommendations made by the Major Clubs with the consent of such Players.

Accordingly, a total of 1031 players (local and overseas) went into the draft, whilst the ‘Right’ of selecting the suitable and desirous players for the 20 member squads, was solely vested with the ‘Franchise Owners’ subject to compliance with the guidelines set by the SLC.

As such, Sri Lanka Cricket is pleased with the overall process, as the said ‘Player Draft’ was carried out as planned in a timely manner and with the participation of all stakeholders, ensuring the highest level of transparency.

However, despite the overall success, Sri Lanka Cricket, which is the governing body of the LPL has observed that franchise owners have opted not to select certain national players and some young players who play excellent domestic cricket and are considered potential future stars.

Considering the above deficiency and in the interest of the game of Cricket in Sri Lanka, the Governing Council of the Lanka Premier League 2021 decided to forward the names of 10 deserving players, (including players who have entered into central and domestic contracts with the SLC) who missed out during the Player draft, to all the franchise owners, and make it ‘mandatory’ for each franchise to select two players out of the given 10 into their squad, thus expanding the squad strength from 20 to 22.

As such, Sri Lanka Cricket wishes to announce that along with the Event Rights Partner of Lanka Premier League [‘Innovative Production Group (IPG)] all required steps will be taken to ensure that the Lanka Premier League 2021, of which the inaugural edition was a huge success story, will be continued on an even bigger scale, whilst ensuring that the league is run with integrity as its topmost consideration.

Read : No KJP, Mathews, Chandimal & DDS for LPL 2021

Sri Lanka Cricket forwarded the names of the following players to the LPL Franchise Holders to be included in their respective squads. Out of the given list of players, franchisees are expected to pick two each.

The ‘Pick Order’ of the players will be decided in consultation with the Franchise Holders in due course.

The list of players is as follows;

  1. Angelo Mathews
  2. Dinesh Chandimal
  3. Kusal Janith Perera
  4. Dhananjaya de Silva
  5. Akila Dananjaya
  6. Praveen Jayawickrama
  7. Minod Bhanuka
  8. Sadeera Samarawickrama
  9. Ashan Priyanjan
  10. Shiran Fernando