Kusal, Angelo, Bhanuka blast away in Super-Eight restart

SLC Premier League Tournament Tier ‘A’ 2020

Former Sri Lanka skipper Angelo Mathews represented his club today in a first-class match after 7 years.

After almost a 5-month break due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Sri Lanka had its 1st first-class cricket action today, as the SLC Premier League Tier-A Tournament resumed with the commencement of the Super-8 Tournament and Plate Championship.

>>Lanka Premier League team names revealed<<

The duration of the Super 8 Tournament matches has been reduced to 3 days by SLC due to safety concerns, unlike the 4-day duration followed in previous years. Colombo Cricket Club currently leads the Super-8 points table with 3 wins from 4 Group A meetings, while others have a tough task catching up with the table topper.

This tournament poses a great opportunity for Sri Lanka national players as they too have joined the tournament to test their strengths post-COVID-19, with no international tours on their schedules.

Super Eight Championship

At the end of the group stages, CCC, Colts SC, SL Army SC and BRC qualified for the Super-Eights, while Chilaw Marians CC, NCC, Saracens SC and Ragama SC were Group-B’s Super-Eight entrees.

Kusal Mendis helped put CCC in a stronger position against Ragama CC with an unbeaten century, assisted by the exciting wicket-keeper batsman Minod Bhanuka, who made a cracking 88 off just 93 balls. Mendis and all-rounder Wanindu Hasaranga saw CCC to stumps, as the Ragama fielders toiled through the day, giving away 353 runs for the reward of just 4 wickets.

Army Skipper Asela Gunaratne managed to put Army SC in a decent position against the well-equipped NCC bowling attack, which included the likes of Lahiru Kumara, Chamika Karunaratne and Chaturanga de Silva. However, the limelight was stolen by left-armer Dilesh Gunaratne, who snatched 4 wickets for NCC.

The Colts-Saracens battle only had one winner today, as the Colts SC batsmen absolutely dominated the day thanks to half-centuries by Angelo Mathews, Avishka Fernando and Santhush Gunathilaka. Mathews (80*) and Santhush (60*) were in charge before bad light interrupted the day’s play, as the Colts ended the day on 256/2. This is Angelo Mathews’ first first-class match for his club in 7 years.

>>Lasith Embuldeniya takes 9-fer; NCC and Tamil Union register wins<<

In contrast to the rest of the Super-Eight matches, CCC ground witnessed a bowlers’ day today as 15 wickets were taken within 70.2 overs among Chilaw Marians CC and BRC. The tournament’s highest wicket-taker, Duvindu Thilakaratne, stretched his lead with another 3-fer today, accompanied by Bhanuka Rajapaksa and Hashen Ramanayake who also shared 3 a-piece for BRC.  The BRC batting unit fell apart in reply to the Chilaw Marians’ 195, as they ended the day on 67/5.

Army Cricket Club vs Nondescripts Cricket Club

Venue – SSC Ground
Toss – NCC

Brief Scores
Army Cricket Club – 236/9 (72)
Asela Gunaratne 50, Himasha Liyanage 46, Mahesh Kumara 41, Janith Silva 29*, Dilesh Gunarathna 4/35, Chathuranga De Silva 3/82

Photos : Army SC vs NCC | Premier Super 8s Tournament

Colombo Cricket Club vs Ragama Cricket Club

Venue – Marians Cricket Ground, Katunayake
Toss – Ragama CC

Brief Scores
Colombo Cricket Club – 353/4 (86)
Kusal Mendis 132*, Minod Bhanuka 88, Ashan Priyanjan 58, Wanindu Hasaranga 51*, Binura Fernando 2/35

Colombo Colts Cricket Club vs Saracens Sports Club

Venue – P Sara Oval, Colombo
Toss – Saracens SC

Brief Scores
Colombo Colts Cricket Club – 256/2 (81)
Anjelo Mathews 80*, Avishka Fernando 66, Santhush Gunathilaka 60*, Sadeera Samarawickrama 41, Kasun Rajitha 2/65

Photos: Colts CC v Saracens SC – Premier Super 8s Tournament

Chilaw Marians Cricket Club vs Burgher Recreation Club

Venue – CCC Ground, Colombo
Toss – BRC

Brief Scores
Chilaw Marians Cricket Club – 195 (47.2)
Oshada Fernando 42, Pulina Tharanga 40, Kasun Vidura 38, Thikshila De Silva 35, Bhanuka Rajapaksa 3/26, Hashen Ramanayake 3/43, Duvindu Tillakaratne 3/54
Burgher Recreation Club – 67/5 (23)
Deshan Dias 24, Nimesh Vimukthi 2/06, Thikshila De Silva 2/07

Photos: BRC vs Chilaw Marians CC | Premier Super 8s Tournament

>>Domestic Cricket returns after Parliamentary Election<<

Plate Championship

20-year-old Lakshitha Rasanjana of Negombo CC rocked Lankan Cricket Club with a 5-fer, but Chanaka Ruwansiri’s brilliant century carried Lankan CC to safety as they piled up 270 before being all-out.  Former U19 cap Lahiru Samarakoon bagged a 4-fer against Baduraliya SC, while veteran fast bowler Suranga Lakmal contributed with 3/32 to Tamil Union’s cause, restricting SSC to 242/8 at stumps.

Lankan Cricket Club vs Negombo Cricket Club

Venue – De Zoysa International Cricket Stadium, Moratuwa
Toss – Negombo CC

Brief Scores
Lankan Cricket Club – 270 (68.2)
Chanaka Ruwansiri 124, Lahiru Dilshan 43, Dunith Wellalage 37, Lakshitha Rasanjana 5/85, Upul Indrasiri 3/79
Negombo Cricket Club – 64/3 (13)
Ashen Silva 30*

Photos: Negombo CC Vs Lankan CC | SLC Premier Plate Tournament 2019/20

Moors Sports Club vs Badureliya Cricket Club

Venue – Colts Ground, Colombo
Toss – Badureliya CC

Brief Scores
Moors Sports Club – 239/7 (77.1)
Adeesha Thilanchana 53, Dinuka Dilshan 46, Ramesh Mendis 40, Ayana Siriwardhana 37*, Nipun Karunanayake 27, Anuk Fernando 20*, Lahiru Samarakoon 4/59, Dushan Hemantha 2/39

Photos: Moors SC Vs Badureliya CC | SLC Premier Plate Tournament 2019/20

Sinhalese Sports Club vs Tamil Union Cricket And Athletic Club

Venue – NCC Ground, Colombo
Toss – Tamil Union CAC

Brief Scores
Sinhalese Sports Club – 242/8 (71)
Sachithra Senanayake 81, Akash Senaratne 37, Sandun Weerakkody 35, Dasun Shanaka 35, Charith Asalanka 24, Suranga Lakmal 3/32, Pramod Madushan 2/53

Photos: SSC vs Tamil Union C & AC | SLC Premier Plate Tournament 2019/20

>>ThePapare Cricket<<