Ramesh Mendis spins Moors to win

SLC Major Clubs 50 Over Tournament 2023/24

SLC Major Clubs 50 Over Tournament 2023/24

Three matches of SLC Major Clubs 50 Over Tournament 2023/24 worked off today (18th December) at Colombo and Panadura.

National capped off-spinner Ramesh Mendis’ brilliant bowling performance helped Moors Sports Club register a convincing win over Police Sports Club in a rain-shortened 30 overs per side game.

Mendis who picked up 5 wickets for 23 runs in his 6-over spell triggered a spectacular slide to bowl Police SC out for 105 runs. Moors SC cruised to the target losing only 3 wickets to register their first win in the season.

>>Avishka Fernando ton leads SSC to second win

Sebastianites Cricket & Athletic Club registered a thrilling win over Colombo Cricket Club in another rain-curtailed game played today at Panadura.

Batting first, CCC posted 177 runs in the allotted 34 overs thanks to Sonal Dinusha’s brilliant half-century. He hit unbeaten 80 runs off 88 balls with 6 fours and 2 sixes at a strike rate of 90.90.

In reply, Sebastianities C & AC made 107 runs for 4 wickets in 21 overs before rain brought curtains down on the game. As per the DLS calculations, they were 4 runs ahead and therefore the match officials awarded the win for Sebastianites C & AC.

Colts Cricket Club recorded a convincing win over Ragama Cricket Club in the other encounter played today at Colts Cricket Grounds, Colombo.

Due to the rain, the game was reduced to a 39-over contest. Ragama CC skipper Saminda Fernando invited the opposition to take the first lease of the wicket after winning the toss.

>>Chamod Sandaru ton guides Chilaw Marians to win

The half-centuries from Jehan Daniel (71) and Dunith Wellalage (51) helped Colts CC post a competitive total – 213/8 on the board.

In reply, Ragama batters couldn’t cope up against a disciplined bowling effort from Colts as they were restricted to 103/7 before skies opened up again to halt the play. Colts CC managed to record their second win of the season as they were 66 runs ahead of the revised DLS target.

Brief Scores

Colombo Cricket Club – 177 (33.5) Sonal Dinusha 80*, Kamindu Mendis 37, Chamindu Wijesinghe 30, Isitha Wijesundara 4/23, Charith Rajapaksa 2/19, Tharindu Rathnayake 2/24

Sebastianites Cricket & Athletic Club – 107/4 (21) Dushan Vimukthi 37*, Lohan de Zoysa 23, Sachitha Jayatilake 23*, Asitha Fernando 2/17

Result – Sebastianites C & AC won by 4 runs (DLS Method)

Police Sports Club – 105 (28.5) Chathuranga Kumara 37, Ramesh Mendis 5/23, Malsha Tharupathi 2/15

Moors Sports Club – 106/3 (23) Janishka Perera 35*

Result – Moors SC won by 7 wickets

Colts Cricket Club – 213/8 (39) Jehan Daniel 71, Dunith Wellalage 51, Muditha Lakshan 33, Sheran Fonseka 26*, Sanjula Bandara 2/25, Janith Liyanage 2/41

Ragama Cricket Club – 103/7 (27) Saminda Fernando 39, Muditha Lakshan 4/28, Akila Dananjaya 2/16

Result – Colts CC won by 66 runs (DLS Method)