SSC beat Sebastianites to clinch Limited Overs Title

SLC Major Clubs 50 Over Tournament 2023/24


Sinhalese Sports Club were crowned Champions of the SLC Major Clubs 50 Over Tournament 2023/24 as they beat Sebastianites Cricket & Athletic Club by 71 runs in the Final worked off today (16th January) at SSC Grounds, Colombo.  

Sinhalese Sports Club’s Skipper Avishka Fernando won the toss and opted to bat first in their own backyard. Fernando and Danushka Gunathilaka opened the batting for SSC, but their stay at the crease did not last long as the former was trapped in front by Isitha Wijesundara for just 6 runs in the very first over of the innings.

>>Avishka Fernando ton steers SSC into Final

Gunathilaka (23) and No. 3 batter Shevon Daniel (35) got starts, but were unable to convert them into substantial scores. The Sebastianite bowlers continued to put pressure on the SSC middle order and pushed them onto the back foot.

When the SSC batters were reeling at 121/6, wicket-keeper batter Krishan Sanjula and all-rounder Chamindu Wickramasinghe gave some impetus to the innings, adding a 68-run stand for the 7th wicket.

Sanjula top scored for SSC with a brilliant knock of 84 runs off 125 balls with 5 fours and a six, and guided his side to 201/8 in the allotted 50 overs. Dushan Vimukthi, Isitha Wijesundara and Chamikara Edirisinghe impressed with the ball, claiming 2 wickets each for Sebastianites C & AC.

In reply, Sebastianites C & AC got off to a terrible start as they lost their first 3 wickets for just 12 runs inside 7 overs. The SSC bowlers continued to tighten things up, which resulted in Sebastianites C & AC keeping on losing wickets at regular intervals.

>>SSC and Police declared joint Champions

Sebastianites C & AC eventually knocked over just 130 runs handing a convincing 71-run win for SSC. National capped spinner Prabath Jayasuriya was the pick of the bowlers for SSC as he managed to claim 3 wickets for 25 runs.

With this Championship win, SSC completed the Major Clubs double as they have already won the SLC Major Clubs League Tournament (Joint Champions) which was held last month.

Brief Scores 

Sinhalese Sports Club – 201/8 (50) Krishan Sanjula 84, Chamindu Wickramasinghe 36*, Shevon Daniel 35, Danushka Gunathilaka 23, Dushan Vimukthi 2/39, Isitha Wijesundara 2/39, Chamikara Edirisinghe 2/40

Sebastianites Cricket & Athletic Club – 130 (42) Chamikara Edirisinghe 37, Promod Maduwantha 21, Prabath Jayasuriya 3/25, Gishan Balasooriya 2/21, Nuwanidu Fernando 2/31

Result – SSC won by 71 runs & clinched the championship