Sachithra Serasinghe, Ashen Silva centuries put Chilaw in control


The final round of the group stage in the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) Major League Tournament 2017/18 began around the island on Friday. 

SSC vs Moors

SSC were bowled out for 199 with the ambidextrous Tharindu Ratnayake picking up a five wicket haul before they hit back to reduce Moors SC to 124/7 at close.

Dasun Shanaka starred with a timely half century for SSC while Jeffrey Vandersay captured three wickets for them.

Sinhalese Sports Club – 199 (52.1) Dasun Shanaka 75, Minod Bhanuka 36, Tharindu Ratnayake 5/71, Shiran Fernando 3/56 

Moors Sports Club – 124/7 (36) Chamara Silva 32, Primosh Perera 27, Jeffrey Vandersay 3/30, Sachithra Senanayake 2/27, Vimukthi Perera 2/32

Ragama CC vs Bloomfield

Ragama CC batted themselves into a strong position on the back of half centuries from Lahiru Thirimanne, Janith Liyanage, Roshen Silva and Sameera Soyza.

They batted throughout the day facing 90 overs as they reached 312/9 at stumps. Kasun Rajitha was the most successful bowler for Bloomfield picking up three wickets.

Ragama Cricket Club – 312/9 (90) Lahiru Thirimanna 62, Roshen Silva 59, Sameera de Zoysa 53, Janith Liyanage 50, Lahiru Milantha 38, Lahiru Samarakoon 2/51, Kasun Rajitha 3/80, Ramesh Mendis 2/82, Malith de Silva 2/86 

Bloomfield C & AC

SL Ports Authority vs Chilaw Marians

Sachithra Serasinghe and Ashen Silva were on a batting rampage as both batsmen remained unbeaten on centuries at close of play against Sri Lanka Ports Authority Cricket Club.

They put on an unbroken 215 runs for the third wicket as Chilaw Marians ended the day on 335/2.

Chilaw Marians Cricket Club – 335/2 (90)Sachithra Serasinghe 130*, Ashen Silva 125*, Oshada Fernando 65 

Sri Lanka Ports Authority CC

NCC vs Badureliya SC

NCC took control of their match against Badureliya SC as left-arm spin twins, Chathuranga De Silva and Lasith Embuldeniya shared six wickets between them to dismiss Badureliya for 194. NCC ended the day on 52/1 with Mahela Udwatte  unbeaten on 25*.

Badureliya Cricket Club – 194 (72.4) Sanjaya Chathuranga 28, Alankara Asalanka 25, Chathuranga de Silva 3/28, Lasith Embuldeniya 3/33, Lahiru Kumara 2/45 

Nondescripts Cricket Club – 52/1 (15) Mahela Udawatte 25*

BRC vs Army SC

BRC made a bold reply of 106/1 with Lasith Lakshan hitting an unbeaten half century after they dismissed Army SC for 232.

Right arm off spinner T.M Sampath picked up four wickets for BRC while Chamikara Edirisinghe captured three.

Army Sports  Club – 232 (65.3) Dilshan de Soysa 50, Seekkuge Prasanna 45, Himasha Liyanage 21, Kasun de Silva 21, Tillakaratne Sampath 4/40, Chamikara Edirisinghe 3/70, Suraj Randiv 2/39 

Burgher Recreation Club – 106/1 (27) Lasith Lakshan 61*, Lisula Lakshan 33*

Saracens vs CCC

Saracens SC’s skipper Harsha Cooray hit an unbeaten century to lead his side to a strong position when stumps were drawn.

Watch LIVE – SLC Major League Tier A Tournament – CCC vs Saracens

He got good support from Minhaj Jaleel who was run out for 82 while opener Thanuka Dabare hit a fluent 72.

Saracens Sports Club – 347/5 (69) Harsha Cooray 108*, Minhaj Jaleel 82, Thanuka Dabare 72, Promod Maduwantha 29 

Colombo Cricket Club