Defending champions Sri Lanka finish 3rd in Campus Cricket championship

Red Bull Campus Cricket - World Finals 2019


ICBT cricket team, who are representing Sri Lanka in the Red Bull Campus Cricket 2019 – World Finals finished 3rd in the tournament as they were beaten by Pakistan in playoff 3 at the ICC Academy Cricket Grounds in Dubai. 

SL lose 1st play-off despite Himasha-Milantha blitz

Sri Lanka completed the group stages unbeaten, winning the contests against UAE and Pakistan but lost playoff 1 vs South Africa yesterday (01). They had to win Playoff 3 vs Pakistan to qualify for the finals but fell short by 9 runs, chasing a total of 188.

After winning the toss, Pakistan chose to bat first and reached a competitive total of 187 at the cost of 9 wickets. Interestingly, no one crossed the 40-run mark from the Pakistan camp but a collective effort from Abdur Rehman, Shahzar Hassan, Mahmood Ali, Hamza Qadir guided them to what proved to ultimately be a winning score at the end of 20 overs.

Janith Liyanage and Maheesha Theekshana who have been prolific with the ball all tournament, shared 3 wickets a piece.

In Sri Lanka’s chase, it was a struggle from the get-go as they couldn’t find any momentum in the innings whilst clusters of wickets fell regularly. In the 13th over Sri Lanka were 8 for 102 but the former Sri Lanka U19 skipper Ayana Siriwardene didn’t give up as he launched in to the 5th gear, blasting a whirlwind knock of 88.

His 47-ball innings included 4 sixes and 7 boundaries as he chased Pakistan’s 187 at a ferocious pace but couldn’t achieve the improbable. Sri Lanka lost by 9 runs and Pakistan passed through to the final.

Sri Lanka through to play-offs in Red Bull Campus Cricket World Cup

With this win, defending champions Sri Lanka ended their journey in this year’s Red Bull Campus Cricket – World Finals. The final will be worked out between South Africa and Pakistan.

Brief Scores

Pakistan 187/9 (20) : Abdur Rehman 34, Shahzar Hassan 26, Mahmood Ali 23, Hamza Qadir 20*, Janith Liyanage 3/25, Maheesh Theekshana 3/39 

Sri Lanka 178/8 (20) : Ayana Siriwardane 88*, Mahmood Ali 3/26 Muhammad Saifullah 2/31

Pakistan won by 09 runs

>>For more cricket click here<<