Pathum Nissanka, Dilshan Munaweera & Minod Bhanuka stroke tons

SLC Major League Tier ‘A’


Five group stage matches of Tier A of SLC Major League tournament were held today, (7th February 2020) at different venues in Colombo. Three encounters from Group A and two encounters from Group B were played. 

>>Lahiru Milantha smacks a double ton vs Lankans CC<<

The right-handed young batting sensation Pathum Nissanka (129), Dilshan Munaweera (120) and left-handed stroke maker Minod Bhanuka (108) stroked centuries for NCC, CCC and Negombo CC respectively. The batsmen continued to dominate first day’s play as 10 more half-centuries were scored by several of the batsmen. 

Sri Lanka national captains Asela Gunaratne (87), Upul Tharanga (69), Wanindu Hasaranga (63) and Angelo Perera (51) were among them. While batsmen dominated today’s play, few bowlers had a good day with the ball as well. 

The left-arm spinner Duvindu Tillakaratne managed to take a 6-wicket haul for BRC while the right arm seamer Asitha Fernando and the off-spinner Dilruwan Perera picked up 5-wicket hauls for Chilaw Marians and Colts Cricket Club respectively. 

In addition, the right arm seamer Thikshila De Silva (Chilaw Marians), off-spinner Tharindu Kaushal (BRC) and right arm seamer Nisala Tharaka shone with the ball taking 4 wickets apiece. 

>>NCC ride on Chathuranga de Silva 6-fer<<

Group A

Negombo Cricket Club vs Sinhalese Sports Club

Toss – Sinhalese Sports Club

Venue – SSC Grounds, Colombo

Brief Scores

Negombo Cricket Club – 338/5 (90) Dilshan Munaweera 120, Ashen Silva 66, Madawa Warnapura 66, Pasindu Lakshanka 40, Saad Nasim 32 

Stumps – Day 1

Photos: SSC Vs Negombo CC | Major League Tier A Tournament 2019/20

Army Cricket Club vs Colts Cricket Club

Toss – Army Cricket Club

Venue – Colts Grounds, Colombo 

Brief Scores

Army Cricket Club – 270 (89.3) Asela Gunaratne 87, Himasha Liyanage 73, Dinesh Chandimal 44, Thulina Dilshan 28, Dilruwan Perera 5/58, Nisala Tharaka 4/47 

Stumps – Day 1 

Colombo Cricket Club vs Burgher Recreation Club 

Toss – Colombo Cricket Club

Venue – BRC Grounds, Colombo 

Brief Scores

Colombo Cricket Club – 416 (77.1) Minod Bhanuka 108, Ron Chandraguptha 95, Lasith Abeyratne 84, Wanindu Hasaranga 63, Duvindu Tillakaratne 6/102, Tharindu Kaushal 4/125

Burgher Recreation Club – 24/0 (8) 

Stumps – Day 1 

Group B

Tamil Union Cricket Club vs Chilaw Marians Cricket Club 

Toss – Tamil Union Cricket Club

Venue – P. Sara Oval, Colombo 

Brief Scores

Tamil Union Cricket Club – 162 (63.2) Tharanga Paranavitana 45, Maduka Liyanapathiranage 34, Prasansana Jayamanne 20, Asitha Fernando 5/50, Thikshila De Silva 4/42 

Chilaw Marians Cricket Club – 92/2 (21) Lasith Croospulle 53, Oshada Fernando 31* 

Stumps – Day 1

>>Rishith Upamal ton puts Lankan CC in control<<

Nondescripts Cricket Club vs Lankan Cricket Club 

Toss – Nondescripts Cricket Club

Venue – NCC Grounds, Colombo 

Brief Scores

Nondescripts Cricket Club – 403/6 (90) Pathum Nissanka 129, Upul Tharanga 69, Angelo Perera 51, Lahiru Udara 39, Sahan Arachchige 28*, Mahela Udawatte 24 

Stumps – Day 1