Sadeera Samarawickrama ton steers Jaffna to win

National Super League 2023


Team Dambulla and Team Jaffna registered wins in the two matches of the National Super League 50-Over Tournament 2023, which was worked off today (14th March) at Pallekele and Dambulla. 

Team Dambulla registered a 62-run win over Team Galle in the 3rd match of National Super League 50-Over Tournament, played today at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium.

Having won the toss, Team Dambulla Skipper Minod Bhanuka opted to bat first and they managed to post 233 runs in 49.2 overs. Ranitha Liyanarachchi was the chief scorer for Dambulla as he stroked 69 runs off 93 balls with 8 fours.

In reply, Team Galle were restricted to 171 runs, handing a convincing win for the opposition. Team Dambulla displayed a collective and disciplined bowling effort in which the off-spinner Ashan Priyanjan and speedster Nuwan Thushara starred claiming 2 wickets apiece.

Sadeera Samarawickrama’s brilliant match winning century helped Team Jaffna clinch a 3-wicket win over Team Kandy in the 4th match of the National Super League 50-Over Tournament, played today at Dambulla International Cricket Stadium.

Team Kandy Skipper Sahan Arachchige won the toss and chose to bat first, but they were bowled out for 227. The left-arm spinner Dilum Sudeera dismantles Kandy batting lineup claiming a 4-wicket haul.

Team Jaffna were in big trouble in the run-chase, losing half of their side for just 93 runs, but the Skipper Samarawickrama played a Captain’s knock leading his side to victory with a magnificent century.

Samarawickrama top-scored for Team Jaffna with an unbeaten knock of 101 runs off 113 balls including 7 fours.

Brief Scores

Team Dambulla 233 (49.2) Ranitha Liyanarachchi 69, Minod Banuka 36, Wanindu Hasaranga 43, Lakshan Sandakan 20, Suminda Lakshan 2/37, Kavishka Anjula 2/38, Maheesh Theekshana 2/56,

Team Galle 171 (36) Dunith Wellalage 38, Kavishka Anjula 27, Sohan De Livera 26, Ashan Priyanjan 2/22, Nuwan Thushara 2/23

Result – Team Dambulla won by 62 runs 

Team Kandy 227 (49.3) Sahan Arachchige 40, Lahiru Udara 36, Lasith Croospulle 31, Thanuka Dabare 24, Ahan Wickramasinghe 23, Dilum Sudeera 4/39, Binura Fernando 2/29, Pramod Madushan 2/34, Navod Paranavithana 2/41

Team Jaffna 230/7 (48.4) Sadeera Samarawickrama 101*, Dilum Sudeera 31*, Navod Paranavithana 21, Ravindu Fernando 20, Thanuka Dabare 3/23

Result – Team Jaffna won by 3 wickets