St. Sebastian’s amass 505+; Kalana destroys St. Mary’s

Singer U19 Division 1 Cricket Tournament 2018/19


Three matches of Singer U19 Division One tournament came to an end, while three other games got underway today (30th October 2018). St. Sebastian’s College, Moratuwa played against St. Anne’s at home, Moratu Maha Vidyalaya and Dharmaraja College played in Kandy and Gurukula College met Isipathana College at the BRC grounds.

St. Sebastian’s College, Moratuwa vs St. Anne’s College, Kurunegala

St. Anne’s won the toss and elected to bat first. St. Anne’s batsmen put all their temperament on display as they batted almost the whole of day one. The Annites scored 203 in 90.3 overs for their first innings. Lasith Warnakulasooriya was the pick from St. Anne’s for his patient 50 runs. Praveen Cooray was the best of the bowlers for his 4 for 24.

In reply for their frustration on day one, two batsmen from St. Sebastian’s decided to take revenge on their opponents. Sri Lanka U19 cap Janishka Perera and the new kid on the block, Dunith Jayathunga, hit hundreds in fine fashion. St. Sebastian’s batsmen sent the bowlers all around the park scoring a humongous 505 runs by the end of play. Praveen Cooray also scored an unbeaten 62 to help the cause.

Brief scores

St. Anne’s College, Kurunegala 203 (90.3)

Lasith Warnakulasooriya 50, Kavindu Ekanayake 29, Muizz Rafeel 20, Praveen Cooray 4/24, Tashik Perera 2/21

St. Sebastians College, Moratuwa 505/7 (98)

Janishka Perera 143, Dunith Jaythunga 141, Praveen Cooray 62*, Rumesh Mendis 41, Nuwanindu Fernando 39, Sukitha Prasanna 27, Nishitha Abilash 26, Pasindu Thennakoon 3/101


St. Anne’s frustrate St. Sebastian’s in Moratuwa

Three games of the Singer U19 Division I Cricket Tournament 2018/19 commenced today (29th October 2018). St. Anne’s College,

Thomas’ College, Mount Lavinia vs St. Mary’s College, Kegalle

After winning the toss, St. Mary’s College opted to field first. Umayanga Suwaris led the batting for S. Thomas’ scoring an unbeaten century while Shalin de Mel supported him with 66 runs. Hiran Biyagama picked up 4 wickets for 85 runs.

The second innings of the game was an absolute drama unfolding as Kalana Perera ran havoc in the Marian lineup. The left-armer picked up 8 wickets for 17 runs dismantling St. Mary’s for just 72 runs. The follow on was enforced and St. Mary’s fell prey in the hands of Kalana Perera as he kept on destroying the visitors. Perera was extraordinary with the ball picking up 4 wickets for none, taking his tally to a match-bag 12 wickets on just the day one.

Brief scores

Thomas’ College, Mount Lavinia 311/8d (64.3)

Umayanga Suwaris 107*, Shalin de Mel 66, Sithara Hapuinna 47, Deon Fernando 46, Kalana Perera 25, Hiran Biyagama 4/85, Sineth Weerasooriya 3/102

St. Mary’s College, Kegalle 72 (23)

Pasan Walisinghe 34*, Kalana Perera 8/17

& F/O 4/5 (4)

Kalana Perera 4/00


Lakshitha Rasanjana strokes 157 to put Nalanda on top

Three matches of the Singer Schools ‘Under 19 Division I’ Cricket Tournament 2018/19 were conducted today around the island

Isipathana College, Colombo vs Gurukula College, Kelaniya

Gurukula College batted first after winning the toss and scored 34 runs for their first innings. The top score was just the 26 scored by Likshan Sasanga. Ravindu Rathnayake was sharp with the ball in hand and bagged 5 wickets for 29 runs.

Isipathana College did not put up a convincing batting display either as they were restricted for 185 runs. Young Thevindu Dickwella hit a quick-fire 59 in just 27 deliveries. Rishitha Sankalpa picked 5 wickets for just 11 runs creating trouble for Isipathana.

Gurukula came back very strong after an early collapse in their batting order and went on to post 249 runs for the second innings. Kemira Nayanatharu and Nuwan Chanaka hit fighting fifties for Gurukula College.

In the final session of the game Isipathana came out to bat their second innings chasing a target of 158 runs. Isipathana still tried for a win in the game but they only managed to score 100 runs for the loss of 5 wickets by the close of play.

Brief scores

Gurukula College, Kelaniya 94 (26.1)

Likshan Sasanga 26, Rashmika Mewan 22, Ravindu Rathnayaka 5/29, Lisura Vinath 2/21, Dinath Dissanayaka 2/22

& 249 (94.5)

Kemira Nayanatharu 80, Nuwan Chanaka 74, Likshan Sasanka 27, Dilip Chamara 22, Ravindu Rathnayaka 4/38, Dinath Dissanayaka 3/19, Madushika Sandaruwan 2/51

Isipathana College, Colombo 185 (32.3)

Thevindu Dickwella 59, Madushika Sandaruwan 33*, Ravindu Rathnayake 25, Rishitha Sankalpa 5/11, Nuwantha Madushan 2/48. Sasitha Ashan 2/59

& 100/5 (18)

Kevindu Dickwella 32, Leshan Amarasinghe 31, Likshan Sasanga 2/28


Moratu Maha Vidyalaya vs Dharmaraja College, Kandy

Dharmaraja College who won the toss invited the visiting Moratu Maha Vidyalaya to bat first. Moratu Maha Vidyalaya posted 141 runs for their first innings. Viraj Kavishka scored 33 runs while Yasitha Samararathna bagged 4 wickets for 43 runs.

In reply, Dharmaraja College scored 159 leaving the game open for either team. Dulaj Bandara scored 40 runs for Dharmaraja while Eran Hansamal of Moratu Vidyalaya picked up a fifer.

Moratu Maha Vidyalaya were at 120 runs for 4 wickets when the umpires put the bails down. Skipper, Nishan Madushka top-scored with 74 runs while Virajith Ahelepola picked up 3 wickets for 29 runs.

Brief scores

Moratu Maha Vidyalaya, Moratuwa 141 (49.4)

Viraj Kavishka 33, Nadith Mishendra 21, Yasitha Samararathna 4/43, Navinda Dilshan 3/27, Virajith Ahelepola 2/33

& 120/4 (28.3)

Nishan Madushka 74, Madushanka Dilakshana 25*, Virajith Ahalepola 3/29

Dharmaraja College, Kandy 159 (52.4)

Dulaj Bandara 40, Kasun Gunawardane 38, Virajith Ahelepola 29*, Eran Hansamal 5/32, Vishwa Didulana 2/44, Nadith Mishendra 2/44


Dharmapala betters St. Thomas’ in a rain-affected affair

Dharmapala College, Pannipitiya battled it out with St. Thomas’ College, Matara on the 24th and 25th of October at

Rahula College, Matara vs Devapathiraja College, Rathgama

Rahula College, Matara played their traditional game against Devapathiraja College, Rathgama at the Uyanwatta grounds, Matara. Rahula College, who were put to bat first scored 230 runs for the loss of 9 wickets in their first innings. Sahan Bandara (59) of Rahula College was the pick of the batsmen while Pathum Madusanka picked up 3 for 51. The game will resume tomorrow (31st October) for day two.

Brief scores

Rahula College, Matara 230/9d (81.5)

Sahan Bandara 59, Binara Sankith 39, Lakindu Chamodya 32, Pathum Madusanka 3/51, Sudeera Weerarathne 2/17, Irushaka Thimira 2/46

Devapathiraja College, Rathgama 1/0 (2)


President’s College, Kotte vs D.S. Senanayake College, Colombo

D.S. Senanayake College, Kotte who won the toss and elected to field first wrapped up President’s College for 120 runs in 37.1 overs. Chamath Yatawara was having a splendid day at work as he picked up 7 wickets for 31 runs. Skipper, Iranga Hashan, fought alone scoring 44 runs for President’s College.

In reply, D.S. Senanayke College were at a comfortable position by the end of the day at 178 for 5. Amitha Dabare was the top scorer of the day with 64 runs.

Brief scores

Presidents College, Kotte 120 (37.1)

Iranga Hashan 44, Chamath Yatawara 7/31, Muditha Lakshan 2/14

D.S. Senanayake College, Colombo 178/5 (36.3)

Amitha Dabare 64, Pasindu Adithya 42, Shashika Nirmal 2/30


<<Click here for more schools cricket news>>