Dunith gets five as 14 wickets have fallen on day 1

National Super League 2023


The final of the National Super League 4-day Tournament 2023 commenced today at Galle International Grounds between Team Galle & Team Dambulla which were the two teams that advanced to the final from the semi-finals

Sangeeth Cooray stood as the captain of Team Galle while Team Dambulla lead by the wicket-keeper batter, Minod Bhanuka in this final.

After having won the toss, Team Galle invited Team Dambulla to bat first. However, Dambulla didn’t started well as Sonal Dinusha was out for a duck at the total of 9. Then Abhishek Liyanarachchi alone with Pawan Rathnayake put 77-run stand for the 2nd wicket to bring Dambulla back into this match. Abhishek Liyanarachchi scored a well made 54 while Pawan Rathnayake departed for 31 runs. Then, Sanoj Darshika & skipper Minod Bhanuka added another 78 runs for the 4th wicket & Sanoj became the 1st victim of Dunith Wellalage’s fifer as he made a solid 37. Unfortunately, Minod Bhanuka was run out after 84-ball fifty. ● Dambulla and Galle advance to NSL Final ● Schedule announced for National Super League 50-Over Tournament 2023

Team Dambulla’s low order hasn’t contributed much as they hoped, being bowled out for 248 runs, Dushan Hemantha remained not out on 27. Dunith Wellalage was the pick of the bowlers as he bagged 5/58 while Kavishka Anjula picked 2 wickets as well.

However, Dambulla bowlers hasn’t given the freedom for Galle batters to score runs, as they got the first 4 wickets for only 26 runs to put a huge pressure on the batting side. Out of those 4 wickets, Wanindu Hasaranga picked two while Lahiru Samarakoon & Ashan Priyanjan shared 2 wickets between them & meantime stumps been called on day 1.

Day 2 will resume tomorrow.