MCA Premier League gets underway tomorrow


The 25th Singer –MCA Premier League 2018 conducted by the Mercantile Cricket Association (MCA) is set to kick off on Saturday, the 09th of September, 2017.

The Official Sponsorship presentation cum Media Conference was held on Thursday, the 07th of September at the MCA Fine Dining Restaurant in the presence of Marketing Director Singer Sri Lanka PLC, Kumar Samarasinghe, Senior Promotions Manager, Singer Sri Lanka, K.D.S. Kanishka, President /MCA, Niran Mahawatte, General Secretary /MCA, Nalin Wickremasinghe  &   Chairman, Tournament Committee/MCA, Sujeewa de Silva.

After extensive discussions, the MCA Tournament Committee has managed to get a window from Sri Lanka Cricket(SLC) to conduct its League, Knock-out & T20 tournies during the months of September & October. The SLC has confirmed that it will not hold any of their tournaments during this period, thus making room for all domestic players to appear in these tournaments.

Sri Lanka Cricket, whilst extending their blessing to the MCA, has also donated 180 white balls (Grays of Cambridge Pakistan  “Cavalier” ) towards  the league stage matches , giving the participating teams a considerable relief.

The number of participating teams have gone up from 07 to 10 this time, with 03 new teams,  namely – LB Finance, Kanrich Finance &  Hayleys Group , joining the top draw.

MAS Unichela emerged champions of the 2016/17 League and Knock-out tournaments while Commercial Credit who were Runners-up  in the Knock-out tournament, secured the T20 title last season.

The Teams;

  1. MAS Intimates Unichela  (2017 League &  Knock-out Winner & T+20 Runners-up)  led by T.M. Dilshan
  2. Commercial Credit & Finance PLC  (Knock out Runners –up  & T+20 winner)  led by  Upul Tharanga
  3. Sampath Bank,  led by  Kaushal Silva
  4. John Keells Group , led by  Bhanuka Rajapaksa
  5. Hatton National Bank, led by Sajeewa Weerakoon
  6. Tee-Jay Lanka  (formally Textured Jersey ) led  by Suranga Lakmal
  7. DIMO, led by Nisala Tharaka
  8. Kanrich  Finance, led by  Alankara Asanka
  9. Hayleys Group, led by Promodth Fernando.
  10. LB Finance, led by Lakshan  Rodrigo

The league stage, consisting of 45 matches, will get underway this weekend (09th & 10th September), and will go on till 27th September while at the conclusion, the top team on the points table will be crowned the League champions.         

The Knock-out tournament, that will follow the League tournament, will consist of 09 matches and will take place between the 30th of September & the 21st of October (Final).

The T20 tournament which will be played on a knock-out basis, will also consist of 09 matches and  will take place between 25th October & 29th October (Final).

Special Awards:

There will be plenty of awards on offer and the League tournament is set to award the Best Batsman, Best Bowler, Man of the Series and the Emerging Player of the Tournament, while a Man of the Match award will be on offer during every game of the Knock-Out segment.

Best Batsman, Best Bowler and Man of the Final will be the awards on offer during the T20 segment while the League Player of the Series will receive the traditional award of a Singer 32 inch  LED Colour TV (since 2000).  

The most popular award during this tournament will be the “Emerging Player” award, which will be judged by the match referees’ recommendations after each league game. The winner will receive the MCA all inclusive Scholarship (two weeks) to the prestigious Darren Lehmann Cricket Academy in South Australia.

The 03 previous winners of this award are Dimuth Karunaratne  from John Keells, Chathuranga de Silva  from Commercial Credit & Finance & Lahiru Milantha also from John Keells.