Isitha and Tharinda guides Bloomfield to Victory

SLC Major Club T20 Tournament 2024

Major Club - T20 Tournament 2024

SLC Major Club T20 Tournament 2024 kicked off today (12th May) with four games scheduled for the day. Due to bad weather conditions only one out of the four games saw a result with Bloomfield C & AC clinching a comprehensive win over Kandy Customs CC by 5 wickets.  

Bloomfield C & AC met Kandy Customs CC for a day game at Panagoda. Kandy Customs, batting first, didn’t make the best out of their decision to bat first after winning the toss. 

Kandy Customs CC got bowled out for just 78 runs, courtesy of some disciplined bowling from Isitha Wijesundara; he ended up with figures of 3 for 5 runs. Sri Lanka national cap Jeffrey Vandersay and Sachitha Jayathilake shared 2 wickets each among them. 

In the second passage of play, Kandy Customs bowlers made it a tough job for the Bloomfield batters by picking up 5 wickets in the process. Tharindu Guruge and Lahiru Madushanka took Bloomfield home safely, putting on a partnership of 48 runs for the fifth wicket. 

The remaining fixtures for the day were all washed out due to rain. The match between Colombo CC and Nugegoda S & WC only managed to proceed for 5.3 overs before being called off. At the interruption, Colombo CC were 52 for the loss of 3 wickets. 

The game between Pandura SC and Kurunegala YCC was also washed out. At the time of the rain interruption, Panadura SC were 81 runs for the loss of 5 wickets in 15 overs. 

The final game of the day between Police SC and Ragama SC was abandoned without a ball bowled. 

Brief Scores : 

Match 01

Kandy Customs CC 78 (16.3) Thevindu Dickwella 25, Isitha Wijesundara 3/5, Sachitha Jayathilake 2/12, Jeffrey Vandersay 2/19

Bloomfield C & AC 81/5 (13.5) Tharinda Guruge 32, Lahiru Madushanka 25*, Asjath Khan 3/17

Bloomfield C & AC won by 5 wickets

Match 02

Colombo CC 52/3 (5.3) Pawan De Silva 22, Nishan Madushka 19*

Nugegoda S & WC

No Result

Match 03

Panadura SC 81/5 (15) Hirun Kapurubandara 21

Kurunegala YCC

No Result

Match 04

Police SC vs Ragama SC 

Match Abandoned