Junior Bangladesh Tigers level the series


Bangladesh under 19s leveled the 5-match series winning the 4th youth ODI against Sri Lanka under 19s by 60 runs on Saturday at R. Premadasa Stadium. 

Bangladesh skipper once again won the toss of coin and elected to bat on a placid Kettarama surface. Banga openers got off to a decent start putting a 48-run stand in 10 overs before left-arm spinner Duvindu Tillakarathne snapped Joyraz Sheik for 30. Saif Hassan and Mehedy Hasan too fell for the bowling of Duvindu as the visitors were 101 for 3 at one stage. 

Zakir Hasan and Nazmul Hossain Shanto stroked two elegant half-centuries to lift the Bangladeshi innings. Zakir took only 66 balls for his 50 while Nazmul batted for 71 deliveries for his half-ton. Shahanur Rehman made a 44-ball 42 to help his team reach 236. Charith Asalanka and Asitha Fernando grabbed two wickets apiece for the hosts. 

Chasing a stiff target of 237 runs to win and take an unassailable lead in the series, Lankan top order failed to lay a solid platform as they undone within the first 8 overs with just 14 runs on the board. Vice-captain Avishka Fernando tried his best to resurrect the innings but he was dismissed for 37 and he made 5 fours in his 55-ball knock. Left-handed middle order batsman Malinga Amarasinghe and wicket-keeper batsman Vishad Randika saved the Lankan middle order with two gritty knocks of 46 and 50 respectively. 

Malinga’s 71-ball knock had 3 boundaries and Vishad also struck 3 fours in his 72-ball knock. Only three batsmen reached double figures for the hosts as they were bundled out for 176 in 46 overs. Off-spinner Mehedy Hasan and seamer Abdul Halim captured 2 wickets apiece for the winners.

The five-match series now stands 2-2 with the final game scheduled to take place on 25th January at SSC. 

Chief Scores: 

Bangladesh U19 – 236/9 in 50 overs: Nazmul Hossain Shanto 50, Zakir Hassan 50, Shahanur Rahman 42, Duvindu Thilakarathna 3/44, Asitha Fernando 2/48, Charith Asalanka 2/41.

Sri Lanka U19 – 176 all out in 46 overs: Avishka Fernando 37, Malinga Amarasinghe 46, Vishad Randika 50, Abdul Halim 2/30, Mehedy Hasan 2/22.