12 Sri Lankans to feature in maiden International League T20

ILT20 2023


12 Sri Lankan cricketers will be in action in the upcoming inaugural ILT20 – International League T20 competition in the UAE.

The six-team franchise tournament will be played from 13th January to 12th February with 34 matches to be played across three venues – Dubai International Stadium, Abu Dhabi International Cricket Stadium and Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

The six franchises would be Dubai Capital, Abu Dhabi Knight Riders, Desert Vipers, MI Emirates, Sharjah Warriors, Gulf Giants.From all the six teams, only three teams have picked Sri Lankan cricketers.

Dubai Capitals, the team which will see five Sri Lankan cricketers in action is owned by GMR Sports, the same owners who own the IPL team – Delhi Capitals. Bollywood superstar Shah Rukh Khan’s Knight Riders group owned Abu Dhabi Knight Riders will see four cricketers from the island nation. Manchester United owners Glazers Family-backed franchise – Desert Vipers will see three Sri Lankans in the squad.

Out of the 12 players, St. Anthony’s College mystery spinner, Traveen Mathew, who represented Sri Lanka U19s in the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2022 is the only uncapped player.

Dubai Capitals – Dasun Shanaka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Isuru Udana, Niroshan Dickwella, Chamika Karunaratne

Abu Dhabi Knight Riders – Charith Asalanka, Lahiru Kumara, Dhananjaya De Silva, Traveen Mathew

Desert Vipers – Wanindu Hasaranga, Dinesh Chandimal, Matheesha Pathirana

>> For more cricket news <<