Hareen, Santhush and Nuwanidu steer Sri Lanka U19 BP XI to victory


Sri Lanka U19 Board President’s XI overcame India Red by 4 wickets in their second match of the U19 Challenger’s Trophy (50 overs) played in Mumbai today.

India Red won the toss and opted to bat first on a dry surface in Mumbai. Skipper Prithwi Shaw opened the batting and took the attack to the Lankan bowlers as he stroked 63 off 44 deliveries that included 11 fours and 2 massive sixes to give the early momentum to the hosts. However, left-arm spinner Hareen Buddhila and skipper Ayana Siriwardane bowled their hearts out to take four wickets apiece to put the breaks in the Indian batting line-up.

Riyan Parag (50) and Kamalesh Nagarkoti (51) scored half-tons in the middle stages of the Indian innings to give them a fighting 226 all out inside 47 overs. Buddila took 4/30 in his 10 overs, while off-spinner Siriwardane picked up 4/34 in his 8.3 overs to restrict the strong Indian line-up.

Chasing 227 to win, dashing left-hander Vishwa Chathuranga went without troubling the scorers for a duck. Left-hander Dananjaya Lakshan stroked a brisk 38 off 41 balls to steady the ship for the visitors, while number 3 batsman Santhush Gunathilaka partnered with him to put on 70 runs for the second wicket to give the visitors the upper hand.

Then came right-hander Nipun Dananjaya to join Gunathilaka, as they took the game away from the Indians with an 88-run stand for the 3rd wicket. Dananjaya made a classy 43 off 75 deliveries, while the Peterite skipper Gunathilake departed for a superb 122-ball 80 that included 6 boundaries.

Sri Lanka U19 Board President’s XI suffer first defeat in India

Sri Lanka U19 Board President’s XI suffered a 7-wicket defeat….

Ravindu Sanjana came and went for a 1st ball duck and skipper Siriwardane was dismissed cheaply as the Lankans opened the door for the Indians to sneak back in as the scoreboard showed 198 for 6 in the 44th over.

Right-hander Nuwanidu Fernando (34*) together with Randhir Ranasinghe (14*) held their nerve to clinch victory in a cliff hanger.

Brief scores

India Red – 226 all out in 46.3 overs |Prithwi Shaw 63, Kamalesh Nagarkoti 51, Riyan Parag 50, Hareen Buddhila 4/30, Ayana Siriwardane 4/34, Nipun Malinga 1/47.

Sri Lanka BP XI – 231/6 in 48.4 overs | Santhush Gunathilaka 80, Nipun Dananjaya 43, Dananjaya Lakshan 38, Nuwanidu Fernando 34*, Randhir Ranasinghe 14* Kamalesh Nagarkoti 2/30.

Result – Sri Lanka BP XI won by 4 wickets