Sri Lanka lift Red Bull Campus Cricket title after breathtaking run chase

Red Bull Campus Cricket - World Finals

Sri Lanka - Red Bull Campus Cricket - World Final

BMS – Sri Lanka pulled off an almost improbable run chase when they hunted down 212 against the much fancied Indians to emerge champions of the Red Bull Campus Cricket 2018 – World Finals at the SSC today (29).

Pasindu Lakshanka carries Sri Lanka to final

A blistering 75* by Pasindu Lakshanka carried Sri Lanka to the final of the Red Bull..

India batting first got off to a solid start but the Sri Lankan bowlers managed to control the damage to a certain extent before Divyang Hingekar decided to go berserk in the energizer over taking Janith Liyanage for 44 runs (runs scored in the energizer over to be multiplied by two).

Hingekar finished with an unbeaten 46* off 21 balls but it was Murtaza Shabbir and Yash Nahar who set things up beautifully for the Indians with half centuries at the top of the order.

India finished with 211/2 and seemed clear favorites to win at the break with Sri Lanka missing most of their key players due to Mercantile cricket commitments.

Photo Album – Sri Lanka vs India | Red Bull Campus Cricket 2018- Final

Sri Lanka though had other ideas with Dineth Thimodya hitting a quick-fire half century at the top of the order before useful knocks from Supeshala Jayathilaka and Hashan Dumindu kept them in the hunt.

It still looked like Sri Lanka had too much to do but Koshan Jayawickrama hit a couple of humongous sixes in a whirlwind knock of 21, while Ranitha Liyanarachi remained unbeaten on 26* as Sri Lanka secured a dramatic 4 wicket win off the last ball.

Rohan Damle was outstanding once again capturing 4/30 but the Indians were shell shocked as the rest of their bowlers were hit all over the park as BMS – Sri Lanka secured their 2nd Red Bull Campus Cricket – World Finals title.

It was interesting to note that Sri Lanka were thrashed by India earlier in the tournament playing their full squad, before they turned the tables in front of a decent crowd at the SSC this evening.


Full Scorecard



(20 overs)


Sri Lanka


(20 overs)

SL won by 4 wickets

India’s Innings

Shubham Nagawade c D Wickramanayake b J Liyanage56
Murtaza Shabhir not out7648
Yash Nahar c P Madushan b D Pathmanathan5845
Divyang Hingekar not out4621
26 (w 3, lb 2, p 21)
211/2 (20 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-7 (S Nagawade, 1.3 ov), 2-124 (Y Nahar, 14.6 ov)
Pramod Madushan40290 7.25
Janith Liyanage40441 11.00
Ranitha Liyanarachchi20270 13.50
Devind Pathmanathan40451 11.25
Usman Ishak40290 7.25
Supeshala Jayathilaka20140 7.00

Sri Lanka’s Innings

Pasindu Lakshan b A Pore1913
Dinesth Thimodya c M Shabbir b R Damle5434
Hashan Dumindu b R Damle2825
Supeshala Jayathilaka c M Shabbir b R Damle2923
Janith Liyanage c S Nagawade b D Deshmukh02
Ranitha Liyanarachchi not out2614
Koshan Danushka b R Damle2110
Devind Pathmanathan not out52
33 (nb 3, w 7, lb 5, b 5, p 13)
215/6 (20 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-41 (P Lakshan, 3.6 ov), 2-94 (D Thimodya, 9.4 ov), 3-142 (H Dumindu, 15.2 ov), 4-143 (S Jayathilaka, 15.4 ov), 5-147 (J Liyanage, 16.3 ov), 6-203 (K Danushka, 19.2 ov)
Divyang Hingekar40390 9.75
Atman Pore30361 12.00
Digvijay Deshmukh40351 8.75
Hitesh Walunj20230 11.50
Rohane Damle40334 8.25
Shubham Taiswal30260 8.67