Kamindu Mendis & Lahiru Udara knocks put Kandy in driving seat

Dialog-SLC National Super League 2022 – Four Day Tournament

Dialog-SLC National Super League Four Day Tournament

Kamindu Mendis & Lahiru Udara stroke half-tons as Kandy take the driving seat on day two against Dambulla in their encounter in the National Super League 4-day Tournament, played today (18th March) at Pallekele.

Jaffna vs Galle

After being 218/9 at stumps on day one, Jaffna bowled out for 254 runs as their last pair, Nuwan Pradeep and Kalhara Senaratne, added 36 runs more to the total in the first hour of play.

Interestingly, Nuwan Pradeep, who is not renowned for his batting, top-scored for Jaffna as he stroked an unbeaten 37 runs off 40 balls with 6 fours and a six.

In reply, Galle opening pair Sangeeth Cooray (58*) and Pabasara Waduge (51*) got them off to a great start, putting on 113 runs before the rain brought early stumps on day two.

Brief Scores

Jaffna – 254 (83.5) N Pradeep 37*, N Paranavithana 34, N Madushka 29, K Senaratne 29, S Gunathilake 28, S Fernando 27, S Lakshan 4/28, D Madushanka 3/51, C De Silva 2/72

Galle – 113/0 (30.4) S Cooray 58*, P Waduge 51*

Stumps – Day 2

Kandy vs Dambulla

After being 297/3, Kandy continued their domination with the bat on day two as they posted a mammoth score of 446 runs on the board for the first innings.

Kamindu Mendis, who remained unbeaten on 51 at stumps on day one, went on to score 94 runs, as he unfortunately missed out on his fourth consecutive ton in the tournament. Lahiru Udara also played a fine hand for Kandy, putting on 83 runs off 117 balls with 9 fours.

The veteran left arm spinner Malinda Pushpakumara who has just crossed the 800-wicket milestone in first-class cricket, came up with another impressive performance taking 7 scalps for 120 runs.

In reply, Dambulla were stuttering at 77/3 at the close of play on day two. The Skipper Minod Bhanuka remained unbeaten on 37 runs for the visitors.

Brief Scores

Kandy – 446 (128.5) O Fernando 97, K Mendis 94, L Udara 83, K Mishara 74, L Croospulle 43, M Pushpakumara 7/120

Dambulla – 77/3 (23.3) M Bhanuka 37*, A Fernando 2/25

Stumps – Day 2