Dasun Shanaka Dambulla Viiking skipper

Lanka Premier League 2020 – Coverage powered by My Cola


Sri Lanka all-rounder Dasun Shanaka has been named as the captain of the Dambulla Viiking franchise.

With only a day left for the commencement of the Lanka Premier League, Dambulla Viiking is the last team to confirm their skipper for the tournament.

Shanaka was drafted into the franchise as the local Icon player. He proved that he is captaincy material when he led a young Sri Lanka squad to a 3-0 win against Pakistan in 2019.

Read More: High-profile Commentary Panel for LPL

Shanaka will be relieved to have the services of former national captains Upul Tharanga and Paul Stirling, who will also feature in the ‘Viiking’ setup, at his disposal.

Shanaka will have his first assignment as the Dambulla Viiking skipper on 28th November against Kandy Tuskers at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium.

Confirmed Captains in LPL 2020

  • Colombo Kings – Angelo Mathews
  • Dambulla Viiking -Dasun Shanaka
  • Galle Gladiators – Shahid Afridi
  • Jaffna Stallions – Thisara Perera
  • Kandy Tuskers – Kusal Pereraa

>>Lanka Premier League 2020<<