Cops continue good form while Kandy tighten grip on title

Nippon Paint Rugby League 2022/23


The Nippon Paint Rugby League 2022/23 is into its business end as the Super Round kicked off this weekend.

Kandy SC v Navy SC

Full time: 37 – 28

The defending Champions secured yet another win as they beat the Sailors by 37-28 at Welisara on Sunday, though the scoreline doesn’t necessarily mean Kandy totally dominated the game. In the first half, Kandy crossed the whitewash twice through Nigel Ratwatte while Tharinda Ratwatte added two penalties and a conversion. For Navy, Nirosh Perera scored a converted try in the first half.

>> Photos – SL Air Force SC vs SL Army SC – Nippon Club Rugby League 2022

The second half started with the Sailors being awarded a penalty try. But Kandy stamped their authority with a couple of tries from skipper Damith Dassanayake and Dinal Ekanayake. However, the Sailors came storming back in the last 15 minutes. Tries from skipper Adheesha Weeratunge and Nirosh Perera got Navy two points behind Kandy with three minutes remaining on the clock.

>> Photos – Navy SC v Kandy SC | Nippon Club Rugby League 2022

Kandy SC, who had possession after the restart, maintained possession until the 80 minutes were up. During stoppage time, Srinath Sooriyabandara outfoxed the Navy defense to score Kandy’s fifth try and seal the win.

CR&FC v Havelock SC

Full time: 17 – 14

CR&FC did the double against Havelocks SC beating them by 17-14 at Longdon Place on Sunday. Much like their meeting in the first round at Havelock Park, the tussle went right down to the wire. In the end, CR&FC held onto victory by a mere 3 points and lifted the Mathys Trophy.

Police SC v CH&FC

Full time: 41 – 26

Police SC continued their good run of form with a thrilling win over CH&FC at the Race Course Grounds on Friday. The game was even-stevens at the beginning of the second half with both teams locked on 19 points. That’s when the Cops stepped on the accelerator, scoring three tries in quick succession. The home side only managed a solitary try in the dying moments of the game. Police’s six tries came from Yomal Saranga, Primesh Dhanushka, Nisal Samadhi, Mohommad Faumy, Janith Chanaka, and Akash Madushanka. The hosts managed four tries through Prasath Madushanka (2), Shenal Silva and Dushmantha Priyadarshana

Air Force SC v Army SC 

Full time: 27 – 16

Air Force secured an easy win over Army SC to remain on top of the Plate segment. The Airmen found tries through Dunal Fernando, Denuwan Lakranda, Sudath Bandara while three conversions and a penalty were knocked over by Nuwan Perera. For the Soldiers, Sudaraka Dikkumbura and Manoj Kumara scored tries.