Chilaw Marians clinch SLC Major League Tier ‘A’ title


Chilaw Marians were crowned Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) Major League Tier A champions when they overcame the strong SSC outfit by 264 runs at the CCC grounds in Colombo.

SSC who were set a daunting 540 for victory on the final day, folded up for just 275 runs with Sammu Ashan making his second half century of the match.

It was the Chilaw spinners who got into the party like they have all season, with the three spinners picking up all ten wickets to fall. Shehan Jayasuriya’s right-arm off spin yielded four wickets while Malinda Pushpakumara and Pulina Tharanga captured three apiece.

Earlier in the game, Shehan Jayasuriya and Ashen Silva made centuries to set up Chilaw’s vital first innings total of 372. Jayasuriya was also by far the stand-out player in the match with a century and half century and a match bag of 8 wickets.

Read – Charith Jayampathi sparks Ports Authority’s astonishing comeback

Chilaw Marians skipper Malinda Pushpakumara ended the tournament as the top wicket taker with 70 wickets while Sachithra Serasinghe topped the batting chart with 901 runs.

Chilaw Marians Cricket Club 372 (103.5) Shehan Jayasuriya 146, Ashen Silva 105, Sachithra Serasinghe 30, Risith Upamal 24, Rukshan Shehan 20*, Akthab Cader 4/79, Sachithra Senanayake 4/103  & 399 (105.3) Risith Upamal 88*, Shehan Jayasuriya 88, Rukshan Shehan 78, Sachithra Serasinghe 37, Oshada Fernando 31, Thikshila de Silva 31, Akash Senarathna 4/72, Sachithra Senanayaka 4/134 

Sinhalese Sports Club 232 (66.2) Sammu Ashan 72, Chamara Kapugedera 63, Kavindu Kulasekara 47, Shehan Jayasuriya 4/48, Thikshila de Silva 3/27, Malinda Pushpakumara 2/80  & 275 (72.2) Sammu Ashan 83, Charith Asalanka 45, Sachithra Senanayaka 45, Shehan Jayasuriya 4/65, Pulina Tharanga 3/11, Malinda Pushpakumara 3/112