Charith Jayampathi sparks Ports Authority’s astonishing comeback


Three matches of the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) Major League Tier A Tournament were worked off today(17).

Saracens vs SLPA CC

Former Sri Lanka under 19 left arm quick Charith Jayampathi, who was struggling for form, bowled a dream spell to dismantle Saracens SC for just 118 runs.

He picked up 5/33 in the second innings while ripping thorough the opposition top order as he ended with a match bag of 8/76.

Ports needed a further 210 for the outright win and it was their overseas pro and former England Test opener Nick Compton who shone again making 95 to follow up on his first innings century as SLPA romped home by six wickets.

Saracens Sports Club311 (111) Ashen Bandara 87*, Minhaj Jaleel 56, Andy Solomons 48, Harsha Cooray 41, Gamindu Kanishka 35, Thanuka Dabare 20, Charith Jayampathi 3/43, Chanaka Komasaru 3/96, Maduka Liyanapathiranage 2/50 & 118 (39.2) Ranitha Liyanarachchi 34, Harsha Cooray 29, Charith Jayampathi 5/33, Chanaka Komasaru 3/34
Sri Lanka Ports Authority CC220 (58.2) Nick Compton 103, Gihan Rupasinghe 38, Ishan Rangana 34, Mohomed Dilshad 3/47, Ranitha Liyanarachchi 5/57 & 213/4 (55.3) Nick Compton 95, Ishan Rangan 41, Yohan de Silva 36, Mohomed Dilshad 1/48,

Chilaw vs SSC

Chilaw Marians batted themselves into a title winning position as they made 399 all-out to set SSC 540 to win on the final day.

Shehan Jayasuriya, Rukshan Shehan and Risith Upamal made vital half centuries for the Marians while Sachithra Senanayake and Akash Senaratne picked up four wickets apiece.

Chilaw Marians are almost certain of winning the championship now, with the bonus points they have gained in this match so far.

Chilaw Marians Cricket Club372 (103.5)Shehan Jayasuriya 146, Ashen Silva 105, Sachithra Serasinghe 30, Risith Upamal 24, Rukshan Shehan 20*, Akthab Cader 4/79, Sachithra Senanayake 4/103 & 399 (105.3)Shehan Jayasuriya 88, Rukshan Shehan 78,Risith Upamal 88*, Sachithra Serasinghe 37, Oshada Fernando 31, Thikshila de Silva 31, Sachithra Senanayaka 4/134, Akash Senarathna 4/72
Sinhalese Sports Club232 (66.2) Sammu Ashan 72, Chamara Kapugedera 63, Kavindu Kulasekara 47, Shehan Jayasuriya 4/48, Thikshila de Silva 3/27, Malinda Pushpakumara 2/80

Colts vs NCC

NCC recorded an emphatic outright win inside three days as they demolished Colts by an innings and 143 runs.

Sachintha Peiris captured 5/65 to bowl NCC to victory but Colts put up an improved performance as they made 316 all out after folding up for 127 in the first innings.

Sahan Arachchige made a fighting century while Priyamal Perera made 70 for Colts in their second innings.

Colombo Colts Cricket Club127 (35.1) Nisala Tharaka 25, Kaveeshka Anjula 20, Lasith Ambuldeniya 5/33, Lahiru Kumara 4/26 & 348 (111.4) Sahan Arachchige 116, Priyamal Perera 70, Hashan Dumindu 37, Lahiru KUmara 2/83, Sachintha Pieris 5/65, Tharindu Kaushal 2/46
Nondescripts Cricket Club618/9d (121.4)Lahiru Udara 157, Bhanuka Rajapaksa 134, Angelo Perera 129*, Mahela Udawatte 106, Chamika Karunaratna 54, Prabath Jayasuriya 4/224, Nisala Tharaka 3/100, Hashan Dumindu 2/39