CDB empowers MCA Open Cricket ‘Sixes’ for the fourth consecutive year

MCA Open Cricket ‘Sixes’


Citizens Development Business Finance PLC (CDB), a corporate leader positioned among the top five largest Non-Banking financial institutions in Sri Lanka, has come forward to sponsor the Mercantile Cricket Association Open Cricket ‘Sixes’ for the fourth consecutive year.

The annual tournament organized by the Mercantile Cricket Association (MCA), is recognized as a coveted cricketing fiesta within the corporate sector and has been celebrated for over 30 years in the country.

Chief Guest Karthik Elangovan, Executive Director/Chief Emergent Business Officer, CDB presented the official sponsorship to MCA Officials at a media conference held recently to announce the sponsorship. Participating in the event were MCA Officials including Nalin Wickramasinghe – President, Hasitha Dassanayake – Executive committee member/Chairman Information and Technology Committee and K.D.S. Kanishka – Secretary, Sponsorship committee and the senior management of CDB including Guest of Honour Sasindra Munasinghe – Executive Director/Sales and Business Development and Darshana Jayasinghe – Senior Deputy General Manager, Marketing.

Addressing the media, Darshana Jayasinghe, Senior Deputy General Manager – Marketing, CDB said, “We are proud to extend our commitment to the game of cricket with yet another sponsorship for such an anticipated cricket tournament. While CDB is excited to continue our partnership to support the MCA Open Cricket ‘Sixes’, it is all the more significant as it is with the purpose of empowering and investing in the future stars of Sri Lankan cricket. I would also like to take this opportunity to wish all the teams the best of luck and we look forward to an invigorating tournament.”

This year, over 80 teams are expected to take part in the tournament under Tier A and Tier B segments. The Tier A matches will be held at the MCA, Thurstan, and Colts Cricket Grounds, with 12 teams playing 15 matches at each location. The Tier B segment, comprising of 72 teams will play 96 matches at 5 locations; the MCA, Wesley College, D.S. Senanayake College Cricket Grounds as well as at the Sapper Ground Mattegoda and Dharmapala Ground in Pannipitiya.

The MCA Open Cricket Sixes will commence on the 30th of August 2022 and conclude with the exciting finals at the MCA Grounds on the 4th of September 2022, where the presentation of trophies and prizes to the winners will take place.