Big calls made as India announce Asia Cup squad

ACC Men’s Asia Cup 2023

Big calls made as India announce Asia Cup squad

India named their 17-member squad for the upcoming Asia Cup squad starting 30 August. 

India have been bolstered by the return of KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer in the squad announced for the Asia Cup on 21 August. Both the middle-order batters were rehabilitating from their respective injuries at the National Cricket Academy and have been declared fit for the Asia Cup. 

The squad also marks the return of Jasprit Bumrah to ODI cricket after a gap of more than one year. After proving his fitness in the ongoing T20I series against Ireland, Bumrah is set to test himself in the 50-over format heading into the World Cup. 

Squad: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya (vice-captain), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Prasidh Krishna. 

Reserve travelling player: Sanju Samson 

Rohit Sharma-led India begin their Asia Cup campaign on 2 September, taking on arch-rivals Pakistan in Kandy, Sri Lanka after which they face Nepal at the same venue two days later. 

This will be the first time India and Pakistan face off in ODIs after the 2019 Cricket World Cup. 

The top two teams from each group will progress to Super 4 where each team will face the other. At the end of the Super 4 stage, the top two teams will face off in the final on 17 September in Colombo.