Home Cricket National Cricket Bangladesh inflicts humiliating defeat on Sri Lanka

Bangladesh inflicts humiliating defeat on Sri Lanka

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023


Bangladesh registered their first-ever World Cup win over Sri Lanka, defeating the island nation by 3 wickets in their ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 encounter played at Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi on Monday.

Reporting from Delhi, India

Sri Lanka were finally knocked out of the Semi-Final race and suffered a blow to their Champions Trophy 2025 qualification scenario.

Bangladesh, having lost six games on the trot coming into this game, managed to pick up a vital 2 points to stay in contention to book a place in the 8-team competition in Pakistan in 2 years’ time.

Whilst Asalanka anchored the Sri Lanka innings scoring his second ODI century, the biggest highlight of the game happened in the 25th over when veteran Sri Lankan batter Angelo Mathews became the first ever international batter to be ‘Timed Out’.

Asalanka’s 108 helped Sri Lanka post 279 on the board despite losing wickets at regular intervals. A mammoth 169-run stand between Najmul Hossain Shanto and Shakib Al Hasan set up the chase for the Tigers, who reached the target with 8.5 overs to spare.

After Mathews’ ‘Timed Out’ incident, Sri Lanka were 5 down for 135 well before the half-way point in the innings. However, Asalanka batted brilliantly for his 105-ball 108, which had five sixes and six fours to steer the Lankan innings. He added two crucial partnerships after Mathews’ incident with Dhananjaya De Silva and Maheesh Theekshana. Asalanka and De Silva added 78 runs for the 6th wicket and Asalanka and Theekshana added 45 runs for the 7th wicket to give a competitive score for the bowlers.

Mathews walked into bat at No.6 at the fall of Sadeera Samarawickrama’s wicket, but had to walk back before facing a single ball after he was timed out – a first in international cricket across all formats.

Mathews took his time walking in, and then struggled with his helmet as the strap broke just as he was taking guard.

As he signalled to the dressing room for a new helmet, Shakib and the Bangladesh team appealed for a ‘Timed Out’ dismissal and the umpires upheld the appeal much to Mathews’ dismay.

The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 playing conditions pertaining to ‘Timed Out’ dismissals reads thus:

40.1.1 After the fall of a wicket or the retirement of a batter, the incoming batter must, unless Time has been called, be ready to receive the ball, or for the other batter to be ready to receive the next ball within 2 minutes of the dismissal or retirement. If this requirement is not met, the incoming batter will be out, Timed out.

Earlier, after being asked to bat first, Sri Lanka lost opening batter Kusal Perera for just 4 runs in the very first over. Skipper Kusal Mendis did take some time to adjust to the pace of the pitch before becoming Shakib’s first wicket, trying to hit out his counterpart, but holing out straight to long-on.

Sri Lanka’s best two batters in the campaign so far, Pathum Nissanka and Sadeera Samarawickrama, got off to good starts, but were dismissed for identical scores of 41.

Nissanka chopped on onto the stumps off Tanzim Hasan, who took 3 wickets, but gave away 80 runs. Samarawickrama looked well set during his 41-run knock. He too added a vital 63-run stand with Asalanka during the middle overs.

Chasing 280 runs to win, Bangladesh lost Tanzid Hasan in the 3rd over as Dilshan Madushanka once again shone with the new ball. He once again got a wicket when he removed Litton Das for 23 with an inswinging yorker, which struck on the boot to have Bangladesh two down for 41 runs.

The biggest let off for Sri Lanka on the field happened when Shakib was dropped on 8 by Charith Asalanka at short cover off Angelo Mathews’ first over.

As the dew set in, the Lankan bowlers struggled to make an impact. Najmul Hossain Shanto and Shakib Al Hasan added a match winning stand of 169 runs off 149 balls for the 3rd wicket.

Mathews was brought back to the attack and he removed both the left handers in quick succession, but by that time, the damage had already been done. Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmadullah and Mehedi Hasan Miraz did not stay for too long in the middle, but the deep batting line-up of Bangladesh made sure there were no hiccups in the run-chase.

With this loss, Sri Lanka have now suffered six defeats from eight matches in this campaign, losing all their games to their Asian rivalries – Pakistan, Afghanistan, India and Bangladesh.

Sri Lanka – 279 all out (49.3 overs): Pathum Nissanka 41, Sadeera Samarawickrama 41, Charith Asalanka 108, Dhananjaya De Silva 34, Shakib Al Hasan 2/57, Shoriful Islam 2/52, Tanzim Hasan 3/80.

Bangladesh – 282/7 (41.1 overs): Najmul Hossain Shanto 90, Shakib Al Hasan 82, Dilshan Madushanka 3/69, Maheesh Theekshana 2/


282/7 (41.1)

Sri Lanka
279/10 (49.3)

Batsmen R B 4s 6s SR
Pathum Nissanka b Tanzim Hasan 41 36 8 0 113.89
Kusal Perera c Mushfiqur Rahim b Shaiful Islam 4 5 1 0 80.00
Kusal Mendis c Shaiful Islam b Shakib Al Hasan 19 30 1 1 63.33
Sadeera Samarawickrama c Mahmudullah b Shakib Al Hasan 41 42 4 0 97.62
Charith Asalanka c Liton Das b Tanzim Hasan 108 105 6 5 102.86
Angelo Mathews timed-out b 0 0 0 0 0.00
Dhananjaya de Silva st Mushfiqur Rahim b Mehidy Hasan Miraz 34 36 4 1 94.44
Mahesh Theekshana c Nasum Ahmed b Shaiful Islam 21 31 3 0 67.74
Dushmantha Chameera run out (Mushfiqur Rahim) 4 9 0 0 44.44
Kasun Rajitha c Liton Das b Tanzim Hasan 0 2 0 0 0.00
Dilshan Madushanka not out 0 1 0 0 0.00

Extras 7 (b 0 , lb 3 , nb 0, w 4, pen 0)
Total 279/10 (49.3 Overs, RR: 5.64)
Bowling O M R W Econ
Shaiful Islam 9.3 0 51 2 5.48
Taskin Ahmed 10 1 39 0 3.90
Tanzim Hasan 10 0 80 3 8.00
Shakib Al Hasan 10 0 57 2 5.70
Mehidy Hasan Miraz 10 0 49 1 4.90

Batsmen R B 4s 6s SR
Tanzid Hasan c Pathum Nissanka b Dilshan Madushanka 9 5 2 0 180.00
Liton Das lbw b Dilshan Madushanka 23 22 2 2 104.55
Najmul Hossain Shanto b Angelo Mathews 90 101 12 0 89.11
Shakib Al Hasan c Charith Asalanka b Angelo Mathews 82 65 12 2 126.15
Mahmudullah b Mahesh Theekshana 22 23 3 1 95.65
Mushfiqur Rahim b Dilshan Madushanka 10 13 1 0 76.92
Towhid Hridoy not out 15 7 0 2 214.29
Mehidy Hasan Miraz c Charith Asalanka b Mahesh Theekshana 3 5 0 0 60.00
Tanzim Hasan not out 5 6 1 0 83.33

Extras 23 (b 0 , lb 13 , nb 0, w 10, pen 0)
Total 282/7 (41.1 Overs, RR: 6.85)
Bowling O M R W Econ
Dilshan Madushanka 10 1 69 3 6.90
Mahesh Theekshana 9 0 44 2 4.89
Kasun Rajitha 4 0 47 0 11.75
Dushmantha Chameera 8 0 54 0 6.75
Angelo Mathews 7.1 1 35 2 4.93
Dhananjaya de Silva 3 0 20 0 6.67