Home Cricket National Cricket SL-A go down on DLS as Bangladesh clinch series

SL-A go down on DLS as Bangladesh clinch series

Bangladesh ‘A’ tour of Sri Lanka 2019 | 3rd Unofficial ODI


Bangladesh ‘A’ registered a 98-run win on DLS method in the 3rd and series-deciding Unofficial ODI against Sri Lanka ‘A’ today at the R. Premadasa International Stadium in Colombo.

Bangladesh A overcomes Sri Lanka A in thriller

Bangladesh A managed to record their first win on the tour as they clung to a thrilling 1 wicket win in the…..

Sri Lanka were given a mammoth target of 323 after they opted to chase and were in all sorts of trouble when the skies got gloomy and play was stopped due to bad light. With 6 wickets down after 24.4 overs with just 130 runs on the board, Sri Lanka was well short of the DLS par score, 229 when the umpires decided to call off the game.

Their top-scorer Kamindu Mendis was dismissed just 2 balls before the interruption for 55 runs leaving a daunting task for all-rounders Chamika Karunaratne and Ramesh Mendis. Apart from the 64-run 3rd wicket stand between Kamindu and Captain Ashan Priyanjan, Sri Lanka struggled to get their run-chase going.

Photos: Bangladesh A tour of Sri Lanka 2019 | 3rd Unofficial ODI

Early in the day Bangladeshi openers started brilliantly after they were put in to bat as they amassed 120 runs for the first wicket. In-form Mohammad Naim scored yet another half-century while Saif Hassan went on to score a century.

Apart from skipper Mohammad Mithun, the rest of the Bangladeshi batsmen didn’t quite get going as seamers Vishwa Fernando and Shiran Fernando, both from Moratuwa, struck regularly towards the end of the innings. Left-arm Vishwa finished with 3 scalps while Shiran picked up 4.


Sri Lanka A Team
130/6 (24.4)
Bangladesh A
322/9 (50)
Saif Hassan c Ashan Priyanjan b Shiran Fernando117110123106.36
Niam Sheikh obstructing the field b66765286.84
Najmul Hossain c Kamindu Mendis b Amila Aponso2120016.67
Anamul Haque c Ashan Priyanjan b Vishwa Fernando15212071.43
Mohammad Mithun c Ramesh Mendis b Shiran Fernando32351291.43
Afif Hossain c Amila Aponso b Shiran Fernando12131092.31
Nurul Hasan lbw b Vishwa Fernando171211141.67
Ariful Haque c Ramesh Mendis b Shiran Fernando6510120.00
Abu Hider c Amila Aponso b Vishwa Fernando8710114.29
Sunzamul Islam not out12710171.43
Ebadat Hossain not out3300100.00
Extras32 (b 1 , lb 7 , nb 1, w 23, pen 0)
Total322/9 (50 Overs, RR: 6.44)
Fall of Wickets 1-120 (22.2) Niam Sheikh, 2-131 (25.1) Najmul Hossain, 3-156 (30.2) Anamul Haque, 4-255 (41.1) Saif Hassan, 5-267 (43.1) Mohammad Mithun, 6-288 (45.5) Afif Hossain, 7-295 (46.4) Nurul Hasan, 8-299 (47.3) Ariful Haque, 9-307 (48.4) Abu Hider,
Vishwa Fernando1006936.90
Shiran Fernando1005045.00
Ramesh Mendis704406.29
Chamika Karunarathne806107.62
Ashan Priyanjan602904.83
Amila Aponso906116.78

Pathum Nissanka c Abu Hider b Afif Hossain671085.71
Sandun Weerakkody b Abu Hider181321138.46
Kamindu Mendis c Saif Hassan b Ebadat Hossain55652384.62
Ashan Priyanjan c Rishad Hossain b Saif Hassan34354097.14
Priyamal Perera c Nurul Hasan b Saif Hassan7100070.00
Ashen Bandara c Ariful Haque b Ebadat Hossain6120050.00
Chamika Karunarathne not out150020.00
Ramesh Mendis not out1100100.00
Extras2 (b 0 , lb 0 , nb 0, w 2, pen 0)
Total130/6 (24.4 Overs, RR: 5.27)
Fall of Wickets 1-11 (1.5) Pathum Nissanka, 2-27 (4.4) Sandun Weerakkody, 3-91 (15.6) Ashan Priyanjan, 4-103 (19.2) Priyamal Perera, 5-120 (22.6) Ashen Bandara, 6-129 (24.2) Kamindu Mendis,
Abu Hider502815.60
Afif Hossain603616.00
Ebadat Hossain4.402625.91
Saif Hassan602524.17
Sunzamul Islam301505.00

With the 2-match Unofficial Test series ending in a draw, Bangladesh will leave the island with major honours of the tour having clinched the Unofficial ODI series 2-1. Nevertheless the hosts can be happy about individual performances of certain players as identifying players who should be promoted to the next level is the sole motive of these unofficial matches. 

Star performers for SL A

  • Kamindu Mendis – 139 runs (Avg 46.33)
  • Ashan Priyanjan – 91 runs (Avg 45.50) & 6 wickets (Econ 3.88)
  • Priyamal Perera – 83 runs (Avg 41.50)
  • Shiran Fernando – 7 wickets (Econ 5.14)
  • Ramesh Mendis – 5 wickets (Econ 4.20)

>>For More Cricket News<<