Bandara, Rajitha, Kumara return as Sri Lanka name squad for Afghanistan ODIs

Afghanistan tour of Sri Lanka 2022


The Sri Lanka Cricket Selection Committee has named a 15-member squad to take part in the upcoming 3-match ODI series against Afghanistan.

The seaming all-rounder Chamika Karunaratne has faced the axe while Danishka Gunathilaka who has been suspended from all forms of cricket due to a court case in Sydney over sexual allegations has been dropped from the squad.

Another seaming all-rounder Dhananjaya Lakshan has replaced Karunaratne in the squad while Gunathilaka has been replaced by middle order batter Ashen Bandara.

The left-arm spinning all-rounder Dunith Wellalage who had an impressive debut series against Australia where he picked up 9 wickets in 5 matches at 22.33, has managed to retain his place in the squad.

Sri Lankan spin attack will be led by Wanindu Hasaranga and Maheesh Theekshana as usual, but the pace bowling stocks will be weakened with the absence of Dushmantha Chameera in the squad who has been left out due to an injury suffered during the recently concluded T20 World Cup.

In the meantime, Bhanuka Rajapaksa who has been named in the squad, has requested from Sri Lanka Cricket to release him from the current squad, as he wants to take a break from ODI cricket. As a result, Rajapaksa will be released from the squad.

Sri Lanka ODI Squad: Dasun Shanaka (C), Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis (WK), Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dinesh Chandimal (WK), Ashen Bandara, Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Pramod Madushan, Asitha Fernando.

The 3-match ODI series between Sri Lanka and Afghanistan will be played on the 25th, 27th and 30th November in Pallekele International Cricket Stadium.