All-round India takes T20 series 4-1

Sri Lanka vs India Blind Cricket Tournament


The India blind cricket team managed to win both the T20 matches held against Sri Lanka blind cricket team last eveing and clinched the series 4-1.

India Blind Cricket team vs Sri Lanka Blind Cricket team, 4th T20

The Indian skipper won the toss for the fourth consecutive time in the series and asked the opposition to bat first at the BRC Ground in Colombo. The hosts struggled to post a winning score on the board as they finished their innings at 142 for 9 in their allotted 20 overs. However, Sri Lanka was awarded 6 penalty runs due to the slow over rate of Indian bowlers which increased hosts’ total up to 148 runs.

Read: Sri Lanka beat India to clinch one day series

Chandana Deshapriya top scored for Sri Lanka with a valuable 30 runs. Ajay Reddy and Amol Karche picked up 2 wickets each for the visitors. Chasing a modest total of 149 runs to win, the Indians got off to a flying start and chased down the target convincingly in 15.2 overs with 8 wickets remaining. Top order batsman Durga Rao stroked an unbeaten 68 runs while skipper Ajay Reddy (37) and Naresh (30) chipped in with valuable contributions to guide India to 8-wicket victory.

Brief scores

Sri Lanka 148/9 (20) Chandana Deshapriya 30, Ajay Reddy 2/20, Amol Karche 2/27

India 152/2 (15.2) Durga Rao 68*, Ajay Reddy 37, Naresh 30

Result – India won by 8 wickets

India Blind Cricket team vs Sri Lanka Blind Cricket team, 5th T20

Indian skipper once again won the toss in the last match of the series and had no hesitation to bowl first at the BRC grounds. Sri Lanka showed a much improved batting performance compared to the last game as they posted a massive 189 runs on the board in 20 overs. Sri Lanka’s in-form batsmen Chandana Deshapriya and Ajith Silva once again starred with the bat contributing 80 runs and 64 runs respectively.    

Read: Sunil Ramesh powers India to victory

India had to chase down a huge target of 190 runs to win the match which they did with ease in 16 overs without losing a single wicket. India’s in-form opening batsman Sunil Ramesh who could not make a significant contribution in the last match, struck a brilliant century to propel India to victory. Indian Skipper Ajay Reddy gave him good support at the other end, scoring 66 runs.

Read Also: Sri Lanka beat India to stay alive in T20 series

India won the final match of the 5 match T20 series by 10 wickets and clinched the series 4-1. Sri Lanka’s world cup winning captain Arjuna Ranathunga attended the post-match presentation and gave away the awards to the players.

Brief scores

Sri Lanka 189/5 (20) Chandana Deshapriya 80, Ajith Silva 64, Akbar Ansar 1/19

India 190/0 (16) Sunil Ramesh 107*, Ajay Reddy 66*

Result – India won by 10 wickets

Stay logged to as we bring you reports, photos and live updates of the domestic and international cricket matches.