95th National Athletic Championship; Ayesha Maduwanthi excels in the discus throw


The three-day long 95th National Athletic championship commenced today (31st August) at the Diyagama Mahinda Rajapakse stadium. 

The opening day saw the completion of the heats of most of the events with only five finals taking place. Women’s discus throw, long jump l, 3000m steeple chase,10000m finals were held today while the men’s category saw the completion of the discus throw final.

vIn the Women’s Discus throw, which was the first final to be worked out at the championship, Athletes from Sri Lanka Air Force dominated the proceedings with the first 05 performances coming from the Sri Lanka Air Force Athletes. National and meet record holder in the Hammer throw, Ayesha Maduwanthi, took Gold with a throw of 41.67m managing to slightly edge out team mate S.K Weerasekara who’s best throw was measured at 41.50m. V.V Lakmali was placed third with a throw measured at 39.04m.

95th National Athletic ChampionshipC.M Thilakarathne also from Sri Lanka Air Force was placed first in the women’s long jump final with a leap of 5. 93m. Anjani Puluwansa who was placed second was short of a meter 0.01cm as her best leap was measured at 5.92m. S Dilanki of the Sri Lanka Army was placed third with a leap of 5.43m.

With the country’s ace Javelin throwers Sumedha Ranasinghe and Waruna Lakshan the only Sri Lankan’s to have breached the 80m mark with the Javelin not taking part in the competition, D.S Ranasinghe of Sri Lanka Army will be the chief contender to win the Javelin throw event. Ranasinghe provided an indication of what’s in store when he qualified with a best attempt of 70.07m. He was also the only athlete to breach the 70m mark at the qualification.

Tomorrow (01st ) will be the second day of the tournament and is set to be a thriller with a total of 15 finals set to take place on day two. Stay tuned to www.thepapare.com as we will bring you all the important action from the 95th National Sports Festival.

E: No 121 Discus Throw Men Final
Place BIB Name Affiliate Performance
1 472 KGUP Jayawardana SL Navy 50.77
2 34 ZTM Aasik SL Army 42.48
3 362 HMPGDB Rathnayake SL Air Force 41.32
4 82 SPJT Bandula SL Army 40.97
5 435 KMS Niroshana Government services 40.27
6 547 Isuru Pathirana Lanka Lions SC 39.98
7 511 Sajith Munasinghe Mercantile AF 39.53
8 2 Malinda Madusanka Meththsinga SL Army 39.24
9 81 SDK Silva SL Army 37.16
10 558 M H Kalith Yuran Gampaha DAA 37.05
11 349 DMD Priyalal SL Air Force 37.02


E: No 131 10000 M Women Final
Place BIB Name Affiliate Performance
1 753 SA Lamahewage SL Navy 36:02.56
2 672 ANL Ariyadasa SL Air Force 36:02.82
3 762 MSPM Perera SL Navy 36:56.58
4 692 RDHT Pryadarshani SL Air Force 37:18.80
5 601 KK Kumari SL Army 38:09.59
6 637 PMS Seuwandi SL Army 38:14.28
7 755 MANK Fernando SL Navy 38:22.50
8 685 KKAM Kumarasinghe SL Air Force 39:31.11
9 638 KGDE Karunarathne SL Army 40:44.39
10 693 TRS Priyadarshani SL Air Force 41:16.76


E: No 116 Long Jump Women Final
Place BIB Name Affiliate Performance Remarks
1 664 DVCM Thilakarathne SL Air Force 5.93 +1.2
2 746 Anjani Pulwansa Unattached 5.92 +0.1
3 608 PVRS Dilanki SL Army 5.43 -1.0
4 691 WNR Fernando SL Air Force 5.35 -0.7


E: No 106 Discus Throw Women Final
Place BIB Name Affiliate Performance
1 665 PKAA  Maduwanthi SL Air Force 41.67
2 687 WMSK Weerasekara SL Air Force 41.50
3 688 AGVV Lakmali SL Air Force 39.04
4 663 JMI Sandamali SL Air Force 37.40
5 670 HAA Lakshika SL Air Force 35.80
6 632 HAM Dilrukshi SL Army 34.14
7 742 GASP Madushani Government services 32.80
8 656 DUKL Senavirathna SL Air Force 31.51