Another thrilling day at the National Age Group Swimming Championship concluded with 14 meet records being renewed at the Sugathadasa Indoor Swimming Complex.

>>Day 3 Photos<<

Bringing the record count up to a staggering 38 at the end of day 3, the youngsters are giving it all they’ve got with one more day of competition left.

Starting the day off was Amjad Hasan with a record in the Boys’ U17 400m IM, clocking 5:07.65min in the heat which surpassed the standing record by 0.2 milliseconds. However, he went on to swim a much better timing in the final, 5:03.56min to grab the day’s first record.

Revan Senarathne of CIS won the Boys’ U20 400m IM with a timing of 4:56.58min in the final. Hiruki De Silva snatched her 3rd record and 4th Gold at this year’s meet, winning the Girls’ U15 200m Freestyle event. She swam a 2:18.24min in the final to surpass the previous record of 2:22.13min with ease.

Day 2 Results: Double records for Akalanka, Hiruki, Mihith & Dilanka

Chris Pavithra and Bihandu Hansana dominated the Boys’ U15 200m Freestyle event, winning Gold and Silver respectively. Chris finished first with a record timing of 2:07.22min while Hansana also beat the previous record, finishing second with a timing of 2:07.76min.

It seems like every swim by Dilanka Shehan and Akalanka Peiris ends up as a record. Dilanka Shehan established another record in the Boys’ 20 & Over Freestyle event with a time of 1:59.39min. This was Shehan’s third record at the meet.

>>Click here for all Results<<

Meanwhile, Akalanka Peiris also grabbed two more records today in the Boys’ U20 50m Fly and the 100m Backstroke. He finished the 50m Fly with a time of 25.63sec and the 100m Back in 58.13 seconds.

Biura Talagala renewed the meet record in the Boys’ U13 50m Fly in his heat with a time of 30.83sec. He went on to better his performance in the finals, clocking 30.47sec to grab Gold.

Day 1 Results: 22 new records open up the National Age Groups

Nesha Rathnayake grabbed her first record at the meet in the Girls’ U15 50m Fly when she swam a 30.58sec in the finals. The previous record was held at 30.67sec.

Sandu Savindi added one more record to her name in the Girls’ U20 50m Fly with a stunning timing of 29.94sec in the final. Akithmi Wasalathanthri easily renewed her record in the Girls’ U15 100m Backstroke event, swimming a 25.63sec lap in the final.

>>Click here for all Records<<

Dinasha Hewagama and Sheneli Weerawansa struck again as they both broke records in the Girls’ U20 100m Backstroke today. Dinasha grabbed Gold once again with a time of 1:09.84min while Sheneli settled in at second place with a time of 1:12.35min.

The fourth and final day of the 45th National Age Group Swimming Championship will unravel today, 25th August at the Sugathadasa Swimming Complex. Stay logged on for results, records and photographs from the meet!

>>Click here for more Aquatics<<