Home Cricket S. Thomas’ on course to reclaim shield; Can Royal stop?

S. Thomas’ on course to reclaim shield; Can Royal stop?

140th Battle of the Blues – Day 2


Royal College managed to gain a slender 10-run lead over S. Thomas’ College at close on the 2nd day of the 140th Battle of the Blues, but the School by the Sea dominated proceedings at SSC grounds in Colombo on Friday.

Resuming their 1st innings on 158/6 in reply to the 158 made by Royal College, S. Thomas’ went on to post a very good first innings score of 296 with a handy lead of 138.

Late Royal wickets eclipse Kalana, Ryan efforts

Late wickets by Royal College derailed the efforts of S. Thomas’ College on the…..

The day didn’t begin as expected for the boys from Mt. Lavinia as they lost both overnight batsmen very early in the day. At 169/8, the Thomians were desperate of a good partnership to extend their lead and take advantage of the game.

Handling the Big Match pressure brilliantly, Umayanga Suwaris and Kalana Perera helped their team take a sizeable lead. The partnership which started cautiously with Suwaris playing second fiddle to hard-hitting Kalana saw the latter reach his half-century first. The speedster also grabbed 6 wickets while bowling on day one.

Suwaris was on 38 when Kalana was dismissed breaking the 91-run 9th wicket stand, 5 runs short of the Royal-Thomian record for the same wicket.  

Managing the number 11 Shannon Fernando quite brilliantly, the left-handed Suwaris batted through to lunch seeing off the extra half an hour of the extended first session. He became the third Thomian to score a half-century in this game before he was run out just after the lunch break.

Photo Album : Royal College vs S. Thomas’ College – 140th Battle of the Blues | Day 2

Royal College was provided with a decent opening partnership after they began their second essay 138 runs behind S. Thomas’. Openers Kamil Mishara and Isiwara Dissanayake looked in good touch until Mishara threw his wicket away by slashing at a very wide Kalana Perera delivery to give Shalin De Mel his 6th catch of the match.

De Mel then picked up his first wicket as he bowled Dissanayake with a beautiful in-swinging delivery. However, after a mini-resurrection from Captain Kavindu Madarasinghe and Ahan Sanchitha, Kalana picked his 2nd wicket to separate the duo.

Following Ahan’s wicket, the Royal skipper was dismissed by Shannon Fernando giving Shalin his 7th catch of the match. This feat by De Mel is a Royal-Thomian record.

Royal finished the day on 148/4 with a lead of just 10 runs. Bhagya Dissanayake (16*) and Kavindu Pathirathne (20*) will walk out tomorrow to save the match for Royal.


S. Thomas’ College
296/10 (78.5) & 124/3 (20)
Royal College
158/10 (48.3) & 259/10 (108.2)
Isiwara Dissanayake b Kalana Perera04000.00
Kamil Mishara c Shalin De Mel b Shannon Fernando36876041.38
Ahan Sanchitha lbw b Kalana Perera15272055.56
Pasindu Sooriyabandara c Shalin De Mel b Kalana Perera250040.00
Kavindu Madarasinghe c Shalin De Mel b Shannon Fernando11272040.74
Bagya Dissanayake c Dellon Peiris b Kalana Perera12202060.00
Tithira Weerasinghe lbw b Kalana Perera03000.00
Kavindu Pathirathne lbw b Kalana Perera35617057.38
Kaushan Kulasooriya c Shalin De Mel b Shannon Fernando28475059.57
Lahiru Madushanka not out671085.71
Gishan Balasuriya c Shalin De Mel b Shannon Fernando06000.00
Extras13 (b 4 , lb 4 , nb 4, w 1)
Total158/10 (48.3 Overs, RR: 3.26)
Kalana Perera1445463.86
Shalin De Mel301204.00
Kishan Munasinghe612103.50
Yohan Perera10202.00
Shannon Fernando15.382741.76
Dellon Peiris511803.60
Dilmin Rathnayake411604.00
Sithara Hapuinna c Kaushan Kulasooriya b K Mishara141330107.69
Shalin De Mel lbw b Kavindu Pathirathna211850116.67
Ryan Fernando c & b Kamil Mishara60669190.91
Yohan Perera c Kavindu Madarasinghe b Gishan Balasuriya49908054.44
Kishan Munasinghe b Kamil Mishara8181044.44
Dellon Peiris b Gishan Balasuriya4160025.00
Ravindu De Silva b Lahiru Madushanka223008.70
Dilmin Rathnayake c Kavindu Madarasinghe b Kavindu Pathirathne3290010.34
Umayanga Suwaris run out621099056.88
Kalana Perera c Kaushan Kulasooriya b Kavindu Pathirathne625991105.08
Shannon Fernando not out5320015.62
Extras6 (b 0 , lb 0 , nb 2, w 4)
Total296/10 (78.5 Overs, RR: 3.75)
Kavindu Pathirathne1618335.19
Lahiru Madushanka913714.11
Kamil Mishara1957033.68
Gishan Balasuriya2396522.83
Kaushan Kulasooriya10.522602.48
Tithira Weerasinghe1014014.00
Isiwara Dissanayake b Shalin De Mel20772025.97
Kamil Mishara c Shalin De Mel b Kalana Perera34586058.62
Kavindu Madarasinghe c Shalin De Mel b Shannon Fernando25505050.00
Ahan Sanchitha c Sithara Hapuhinna b Kalana Perera26503052.00
Bagya Dissanayake c & b Dellon Peiris21962021.88
Kavindu Pathirathne c Dellon Peiris b Kalana Perera24543044.44
Pasindu Sooriyabandara c Dellon Peiris b Yohan Perera671609041.88
Tithira Weerasinghe c & b Dellon Peiris03000.00
Kaushan Kulasooriya c Ryan Fernando b Kishan Munasinghe14373037.84
Lahiru Madushanka not out11641017.19
Gishan Balasuriya b Yohan Perera01000.00
Extras17 (b 6 , lb 4 , nb 6, w 1)
Total259/10 (108.2 Overs, RR: 2.39)
Kalana Perera30610233.40
Shannon Fernando23113511.52
Dellon Peiris2365322.30
Kishan Munasinghe961411.56
Dilmin Rathnayake521603.20
Shalin De Mel1151211.09
Yohan Perera5.201522.88
Umayanga Suwaris21201.00

Sithara Hapuhinna c Bagya Dissanayake b Kamil Mishara343050113.33
Shalin De Mel not out6755101121.82
Ryan Fernando st Kavindu Madarasinghe b Gishan Balasuriya390033.33
Yohan Perera b Lahiru Madushanka2170011.76
Ravindu De Silva not out13910144.44
Extras5 (b 4 , lb 1 , nb 0, w 0)
Total124/3 (20 Overs, RR: 6.2)
Kavindu Pathirathne403909.75
Kamil Mishara402215.50
Kaushan Kulasooriya201608.00
Lahiru Madushanka501913.80
Gishan Balasuriya512314.60