Home Cricket National Cricket Kumara blows away Zimbawean tail; Sri Lanka win by 10 wickets

Kumara blows away Zimbawean tail; Sri Lanka win by 10 wickets

Sri Lanka's bowler Lahiru Kumara (L) eyes the ball as umpire Marais Erasmus (R) looks on during the fourth day of the first Test cricket match played between Zimbabwe and Sri Lanka at the Harare Sports Club in Harare on January 22, 2020. (Photo by Jekesai NJIKIZANA / AFP)

Lahiru Kumara picked up 3 crucial wickets in the last session of the 1st Test between Zimbabwe and Sri Lanka to pave the way for a comprehensive, 10-wicket win for the visitors.

Kumara bowled with venom in the final session of play at Harare and proved too hot to handle for the Zimbabwean lower order as the young speedster captured the wickets of Donald Tiripano, Kyle Jarvis and Ainsley Ndlovu. Kumara’s pace was just what the doctor ordered for the visitors as the threat of a draw loomed with the likes of Regis Chakabva digging in.

Earlier in the day it was Suranga Lakmal who gave Sri Lanka the perfect start , picking up Prince Masvaure in the 2nd over of the day as he got the left-hander to nick behind to Niroshan Dickwella. Things only got better for Sri Lanka’s premier fast bowler as he sent the other opener, concussion substitute Brian Mudzinganyama, in his very next over.  Mudzinganyama shouldered arms to a straight delivery and was caught LBW as Zimbabwe slipped to 36/2. His 3rd over saw another dismissal, once again a left hander, as Craig Ervine failed to keep a flick on the legside down, giving Dimuth Karunaratne a simple catch.

Read More : Mathews hits double-ton as tame draw looms

Sri Lanka had the upper hand but Brendan Taylor and skipper Sean Williams came together to add 79 runs for the 4th wicket, more importantly eating up 22 overs of the 90 scheduled for the day. The Sri Lankan attack was looking ineffective but the lunch break did the trick for them as Lakmal once again came back into the attack to pick up another wicket – that of Taylor. Williams followed soon after, nicking behind to Kasun Rajitha and when Sikanda Raza fell just before the tea break, stumped off the bowling of Lasith Embuldeniya, a draw looked a faraway dream for the hosts.

Chakabva kept their hopes alive after lunch but his 142-ball 26 was not enough to keep Sri Lanka at bay as he was the last man to fall, setting Sri Lanka a target of 14 to win. The Sri Lankan openers wasted no time in getting there to give Sri Lanka a 1-0 lead in the series going into the 2nd Test match that begins on the 27th.


Sri Lanka
515/9 (176.2) & 14/0 (3)
358/10 (148) & 170/10 (92)
Prince Masvaure c Dimuth Karunaratne b Lasith Embuldeniya551497036.91
Kevin Kasuza lbw b Lahiru Kumara632145129.44
Craig Ervine b Suranga Lakmal851875345.45
Brendan Taylor lbw b Suranga Lakmal21471144.68
Sean Williams c Niroshan Dickwella b Lasith Embuldeniya18461139.13
Sikandar Raza st Niroshan Dickwella b Lasith Embuldeniya41656063.08
Regis Chakabva c Angelo Mathews b Lasith Embuldeniya8201040.00
Donald Tiripano not out441033042.72
Kyle Jarvis b Lasith Embuldeniya150020.00
Ainsley Ndlovu c Kusal Mendis b Lahiru Kumara5251020.00
Victor Nyauchi c Lakshan Sandakan b Suranga Lakmal11291037.93
Extras6 (b 0 , lb 4 , nb 2, w 0, pen 0)
Total358/10 (148 Overs, RR: 2.42)
Fall of Wickets 1-96 (50.1) Prince Masvaure, 2-164 (75.3) Kevin Kasuza, 3-208 (91.5) Brendan Taylor, 4-247 (106.3) Sean Williams, 5-247 (107.2) Craig Ervine, 6-266 (114.2) Regis Chakabva, 7-307 (128.4) Sikandar Raza, 8-309 (130.1) Kyle Jarvis, 9-328 (139.1) Ainsley Ndlovu, 10-358 (147.6) Victor Nyauchi,
Suranga Lakmal27105331.96
Kasun Rajitha2995501.90
Lasith Embuldeniya421211452.71
Lahiru Kumara2988222.83
Dhananjaya de Silva2185002.38
Dimuth Karunaratne c Ainsley Ndlovu b Victor Nyauchi37784047.44
Oshada Fernando b Donald Tiripano21412051.22
Kusal Mendis c Brendan Taylor b Victor Nyauchi801638049.08
Angelo Mathews not out20046816342.74
Dinesh Chandimal c & b Sean Williams12321037.50
Dhananjaya de Silva c Prince Masvaure b Victor Nyauchi631127056.25
Niroshan Dickwella lbw b Sikandar Raza631203052.50
Suranga Lakmal st Regis Chakabva b Sikandar Raza27410265.85
Lasith Embuldeniya b Sikandar Raza01000.00
Kasun Rajitha lbw b Sean Williams160016.67
Extras11 (b 2 , lb 5 , nb 4, w 0, pen 0)
Total515/9 (176.2 Overs, RR: 2.92)
Fall of Wickets 1-32 (11.1) Oshada Fernando, 2-92 (28.6) Dimuth Karunaratne, 3-184 (66.2) Kusal Mendis, 4-227 (81.4) Dinesh Chandimal, 5-325 (116.2) Dhananjaya de Silva, 6-461 (160.3) Niroshan Dickwella, 7-510 (173.4) Suranga Lakmal, 8-510 (173.5) Lasith Embuldeniya, 9-515 (176.2) Kasun Rajitha,
Kyle Jarvis37128402.27
Victor Nyauchi3276932.16
Donald Tiripano3138212.65
Ainsley Ndlovu28310703.82
Sean Williams32.2310423.23
Sikandar Raza1606233.88
Prince Masvaure c Niroshan Dickwella b Suranga Lakmal17582029.31
Brian Mudzinganyama lbw b Suranga Lakmal16622025.81
Craig Ervine c Dimuth Karunaratne b Suranga Lakmal7130053.85
Brendan Taylor c Kusal Mendis b Suranga Lakmal38585165.52
Sean Williams c Niroshan Dickwella b Kasun Rajitha39795049.37
Sikandar Raza st Niroshan Dickwella b Lasith Embuldeniya17551030.91
Regis Chakabva b Lasith Embuldeniya261421018.31
Donald Tiripano lbw b Lahiru Kumara661109.84
Kyle Jarvis b Lahiru Kumara115006.67
Ainsley Ndlovu b Lahiru Kumara07000.00
Victor Nyauchi not out03000.00
Extras3 (b 2 , lb 0 , nb 1, w 0, pen 0)
Total170/10 (92 Overs, RR: 1.85)
Fall of Wickets 1-33 (18.2) Prince Masvaure, 2-36 (20.3) Brian Mudzinganyama, 3-41 (22.3) Craig Ervine, 4-120 (44.3) Brendan Taylor, 5-120 (45.2) Sean Williams, 6-148 (62.1) Sikandar Raza, 7-159 (81.6) Donald Tiripano, 8-163 (85.6) Kyle Jarvis, 9-165 (89.4) Ainsley Ndlovu, 10-170 (91.6) Regis Chakabva,
Suranga Lakmal2082741.35
Kasun Rajitha1462311.64
Dhananjaya de Silva1161201.09
Lahiru Kumara2183231.52
Lasith Embuldeniya2687422.85

Oshada Fernando not out450080.00
Dimuth Karunaratne not out10131076.92
Extras0 (b 0 , lb 0 , nb 0, w 0, pen 0)
Total14/0 (3 Overs, RR: 4.67)
Donald Tiripano20804.00
Victor Nyauchi10606.00

>>Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe 2020<<