Waseem in; Sri Lanka name squad to face Turkmenistan

2022 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers

The Football Federation of Sri Lanka (FFSL) announced the 23-man squad that will travel to face Turkmenistan on the 19th of November in the 2022 FIFA World Cup Qualifier – AFC 2nd Round Campaign.

The squad contained the much-awaited arrival of Waseem Razeek, from Berliner AK 07 in Germany, whose inclusion into the National squad was delayed due to a number of administrative short comings. 

Related Coverage:

The squad will be without their regular captain Kavindu Ishan, who is out of action for 3-4 months due to a dislocated shoulder which he suffered in the game against South Korea. Also missing out is goalkeeper Mohamed Luthfi due to a suspected knee injury. He is replaced by Sri Lanka U23 goalkeeper Nuwan Gimhana.

In Kavindu’s absence, Mohamed Fazal will lead the team, assisted by Sujan Perera. Sri Lanka are scheduled to play Turkmenistan on 19th November at 4.30pm at the Kopetdag Stadium, Ashgabat.

23-man Squad

Mohamed Fazal – Sujan Perera – Mohamed Ishan – Manaram Perera – Charitha Rathnayake – Duckson Piuslas – Mariyathas Nitharshan – Harsha Fernando – Jude Suman – Sasanka Dilhara – Mohamed Aakib – Mohamed Musthaq – Suntharaj Niresh – Chalana Chameera – Waseem Razeek – Khalid Azmil – Madushan De Silva – Dilip Peiris – Naveen Jude – Chathura Lakshan – Chamod Dilshan – Aman Faizer – Nuwan Gimhana 

>>For more Football News Click Here<<