Skip to main content
Mathews stamps authority with a match-winning hundred

Mathews stamps authority with a match-winning hundred


Angelo Mathews slammed his third List ‘A’ hundred as Dambulla finished off the SLC Super Provincial Tournament 2019 with a consolation third-place play-off win against Kandy at Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium on Wednesday.

Mathews, playing his 262nd ‘List A’ match, anchored the Dambulla innings with a fine captain’s knock as they posted 325 for 5 from their 50 overs. In reply, Kandy managed only 231 all out in 42.2 overs.

After electing to field, Kandy fast bowlers vindicated their skipper Dimuth Karunaratne’s decision, removing struggling Dambulla top three, Niroshan Dickwella, Danushka Gunathilaka, and Oshada Fernando cheaply.

Live – Colombo vs Galle – SLC Super Provincial Tournament 2019 – Final

With the chips down on 45 for 3, Mathews walked out and joined Bhanuka Rajapaksha to stitch a solid 150-run stand for the third wicket to resurrect the Dambulla innings.

Rajapaksha slammed 11 fours and 2 sixes during his excellent 87-ball knock of 95 before falling in the 38th over.

[caption id="attachment_2330062" align="aligncenter" width="750"]Image removed. Bhanuka Rajapaksha and Angelo Mathews resurrected the Dambulla innings with a brilliant 150-run stand for the fourth wicket[/caption]

Mathews continued to stabilize the innings, while Jeewan Mendis and Isuru Udana provided the late flourish.

Photos: Kandy vs Damulla | Super Provincial One Day 2019 | 3rd Place Play Off

Dambulla scored 130 runs in the last 12 overs as Mendis and Udana smashed 50 off 33 and 34 off 14 respectively. Meanwhile, Mathews departed after a fine 106-ball 101 which contained 9 fours and 2 sixes.

Chasing a stiff target of 326, Kandy lost Karunaratne in the second ball of their reply. Sadeera Samarawickrama finally got some runs with the bat, scoring 70 off 66 deliveries with 9 fours.

Match Replay – Kandy vs Dambulla – SLC Super Provincial Tournament 2019 – 3rd Place Playoff

 Uncapped left-hander Sangeeth Cooray continued to impress the Selectors with another fifty but the rest of the batsmen found it difficult to cope up with the rapidly rising required rate. They all floundered inside 43 overs as Dambulla completed their first and only win in the tournament.

The final of the SLC Super Provincial Limited Over Tournament 2019 will be played on 11th April (Thursday) at the same venue between Galle and Dambulla.


Club Cricket
Layout Content
Single Image Layout


We are professional and reliable provider since we offer customers the most powerful and beautiful themes. Besides, we always catch the latest technology and adapt to follow world’s new trends to deliver the best themes to the market.