Dinesh Chandimal guides Soldiers in tricky run chase

SLC Invitational Limited Over Tournament

The four quarter-finals of the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) Invitational Limited Over Tournament were worked off today (28), with Army SC, NCC, SSC and Chilaw Marians progressing to the final four. 

Read More: Sachindu Colombage’s 5-wicket haul keeps NCC unbeaten

NCC vs Saracens 

NCC held their nerve to record a thrilling three-run win, as they overcame a spirited Saracens SC unit. 

Saliya Saman’s four-wicket haul made sure NCC were restricted to 244/8 with Pathum Nissanka and Chathuranga de Silva making half-centuries. 

Photos: NCC Vs Saracens SC | QF 2 | SLC Invitation Limited Over Tournament 2019/20

Sithara Gimhan and Pramod Maduwantha struck half-centuries at the top of the order for Saracens SC, but their lower middle order couldn’t finish it off as they fell agonizingly close. 

Sachindu Colambage starred with the ball once again picking up 2/21, while Chathupama Gunasekara bowled cleverly to capture 2/41.

Nondescripts Cricket Club – 244/8 (50) Pathum Nissanka 78, Chathuranga De Silva 51, Mahela Udawatte 41, Angelo Perera 37, Chamika Karunarathne 21, Saliya Saman 4/41, Harsha Rajapakshe 3/52 
Saracens Sports Club – 241/7 (50) Sithara Gimhan 68, Pramod Maduwantha 62, Saliya Saman 24, Ranitha Liyanarachchi 23, Sachindu Colombage 2/21, C Gunasekara 2/41

Air Force SC vs Army SC 

The battle of the forces went in favor of Army SC as they recorded a five-wicket win after restricting Air Force SC to 206/8. 

Photos: SLC Invitation Limited Over Tournament 2019/20 – QF 4 – Air Force SC Vs Army SC

Suminda Lakshan was the star for Air Force once again as he hit 63 runs before capturing two wickets with his right arm leg spin later in the game. 

It was Army SC’s new recruit and former Sri Lanka skipper Dinesh Chandimal who guided their run chase, as he remained unbeaten on 67* after a few hiccups early on.

Read: Kamindu Mendis guides Chillaw Marians into the Quarter finals

Air Force Sports Club 206/8 (50) Suminda Lakshan 63, Madhawa Nimesh 47, Udayawansa Parakrama 26, Shabik Ifthry 22, Heshan Hettiarachchi 3/47, Lahiru Wijethunga 2/20 
Army Cricket Club 207/5 (44.3) Dinesh Chandimal 67*, Lakshan Edirisinghe 48, Asela Gunarathne 36, Dushan Vimukthi 25, Suminda Lakshan 2/42

Chilaw Marians vs Panadura SC

An astonishing century on List A debut by the Indian born Sumit Ghadigaonkar ensured Chilaw Marians thrashed Panadura SC by 130 runs.

Shehan Jayasuriya also hit 88 for the winners as they posted 315/9 batting first. Panadura SC in reply were bowled out for 185 as Pulina Tharanga and Kamindu Mendis shared seven wickets between them. 

Photos: Panadura SC Vs Chilaw MCC | SLC Invitation Limited Over Tournament 2019/20 – QF-3

Chilaw Marians Cricket Club – 315/9 (50) Sumit Ghadigaonkar 100, Shehan Jayasuriya 88, Kamindu Mendis 63, Thikshila De Silva 28, Umesh Karunarathne 6/67 
Panadura Sports Club – 185 (41.3) Harsha Cooray 41, Vishwa Chathuranga 37, Kashif Naved 20, Pulina Tharanga 4/16, Kamindu Mendis 3/40, Shehan Jayasuriya 2/36

SSC vs Tamil 

A hapless Tamil Union outfit were defeated by 200 runs by SSC in the fourth and final quarter-final of the tournament. 

SSC posted 299/6 with Dimuth Karunaratne, Sandun Weerakkody and Charith Asalanka making half-centuries. Dhammika Prasad added impetus to the latter part of the innings with a quick-fire unbeaten 46. 

Read Also: Dinesh Chandimal to Join Sri Lanka Army

Tamil Union were clueless against a disciplined SSC attack as they were shot out for just 99 runs in 24 overs. 

Sachithra Senanayake captured 4/15 while Jefferey Vandersay ended with miserly figures as he finished with 3/03. 

Photos: SSC Vs Tamil Union C & AC | QF-1 | SLC Invitation Limited Over Tournament 2019/20

Sinhalese Sports Club – 299/6 (50) Dimuth Karunarathne 70, Sandun Weerakkody 62, Charith Asalanka 56, Sachitra Senanayaka 22, Dhammika Prasad 46*, Sadish Pathiranage 2/29, Ramitha Rambukwella 2/44 
Tamil Union Cricket And Athletic Club – 99 (24) Prasansana Jayamanne 24, Sachithra Senanayake 4/15, Jeffrey Vandersay 3/03, Himesh Ramanayake 2/30