Sachindu Colombage’s 5-wicket haul keeps NCC unbeaten

SLC Invitation L/O Tournament 2019/20


Three Group B matches of the SLC Invitation Limited Over tournament 2019/20 were worked off today in Colombo and Katunayake while Police SC, Galle CC and NCC successfully chased down targets set by their opponents.

Read More : Rajeewa, Yohan lead Sri Lanka Ports Authority to third victory

Police SC vs Kandy Customs CC

Police SC taking on Kandy Customs CC at their own backyard registered an easy 7 wicket win with former Anandian left-arm spinner Asel Sigera starring for them with a 4-wicket haul. After restricting the visitors to 78, the home team cruised towards victory in just 25 overs with Dulash Udayanga and Vinit Indulkar remaining unbeaten on 30 and 26 respectively.

Toss – Police SC

Venue – Police Park Ground, Colombo

Kandy Customs CC – 78 (26.2) Chanaka Wijesinghe 17, Asel Sigera 4/10, Sujan Mayura 2/20, Nisar Ahmed 2/23

Police SC – 79/3 (25) Dulash Udayanga 30*, Vinit Indulkar 26*, 

Police SC won by 7 wickets

SL Ports Authority CC vs Galle CC

Galle CC defeated SL Ports Authority CC in Katunayake, largely helped by the contributions of foreign players. In bowling Pakistani pacie Abid Hasan claimed 3 wickets while Pakistan ODI and T20I cap Mansoor Amjad steered the run chase with an unbeaten century. 

Toss – Galle CC

Venue – Marians Cricket Ground, Katunayake

SL Ports Authority CC – 166 (38.3) Gayan Maneeshan 42, Adeesha Nanayakka 36, Yohan De Silva 25, Abid Hasan 3/12, Saranga Rajaguru 2/45

Galle CC – 167/3 (36.1) Mansoor Amjad 119*, Jacob Sachin 30, Rajeewa Weerasinghe 2/25, Hashan Vimarshana 2/31

Galle CC won by 7 wickets


CCC playing their last group game suffered a 4-wicket loss against neighbours NCC who remain on the top of the table with an unbeaten record of 5 wins in 5 matches. NCC’s win was set up by a brilliant bowling effort from 21-year old leg spinner Sachindu Colombage’s 5-wicket haul. Their run-chase was shouldered by skipper Angelo Perera’s unbeaten 66 after the start provided by Pathum Nissanka’s 69. For the home team, Minod Bhanuka starred with the bat, scoring 65.

Toss – CCC

Venue – CCC Ground, Colombo

CCC – 196 (48.2) Minod Bhanuka 65, Lahiru Madusanka 43, Ashan Priyanja 23, Malinda Pushpakumara 21, Sachindu Colombage 5/46, Chathuranga De Silva 2/28

NCC – 199/6 (46.5) Pathum Nissanka 69, Angelo Perera 66*, Sahan Arachchige 20, Lahiru Gamage 2/19, Sandun Mendis 2/39

NCC won by 4 wickets

With all other 3 groups having completed their matches, 3 more games of Group B will be worked off tomorrow to conclude the group stage of the tournament before starting the Quarterfinals.

Teams already qualified

  • Group A – SSC & Army SC
  • Group B – NCC
  • Group C – Panadura SC & Saracens SC
  • Group D – Air Force SC & Tamil Union C & AC

>>Click Here For More Club Cricket News<<